Posted by: jeannineatkins | February 3, 2017

Inspiration in Winter  

 

The poets got to the woods before me.

123

My dog chewed on sticks while I took the photos. We were both happy.

This afternoon I’ll back cookies for the launch of Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis tomorrow, Feb. 4 at 4 p.m. at The Odyssey Bookshop.

Thank you to The Daily Hampshire Gazette for the kind review.

I’m also delighted for the interview about Stone Mirrors and the creative process over at Today’s Little Ditty, with pictures of Edmonia Lewis’s artwork and a long-ago photo of me with my sister and our beloved Grandmère. I offer an exercise in using personification, something I explored for this book, and there’s a chance to win a copy of Stone Mirrors.

Responses

  1. In “Today’s Little Ditty” what a marvelous treatment of your new novel Stone Mirrors and of you and your writing process! Both you and your interviewer are wonderful teachers. Thank you!!

    • Thanks, Sarah. It was special to be asked such a variety of questions, and gratifying to have Michelle’s insightful reading.

  2. Oh Jeannine, loveliness all around! Thank you for sharing your beautiful light in so many ways. ❤

    • Thanks so much, Lorraine. I can feel your light, too.

  3. I wish I could come to your book party! And I love the poetry in the trees.

    • I’ll think of you, Dori. And yes, that poetry in the trees! It’s been icy that past weeks so my walking has been sort of restricted — so a real delight to find the landscape lit up with these words!

  4. Charming! ✨ xo

    • Children, poetry, and trees. What’s not to love?


Leave a Reply

Categories

