Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 11, 2015

Little Woman in Blue: A Book Leaves Home

The leaves are turning in Massachusetts, and I’m finding some balance, making time to read and mull between marketing efforts, coaxing my introvert and extrovert selves to hold hands. One fear is facing blank pages and another is sending out books to reviewers. Can I make sense of my own thoughts? Will they matter to anyone else? I’m grateful for kind words about Little Woman in Blue from my local paper, The Daily Hampshire Gazette. And thrilled that Ingram hosted me at the New England Independent Booksellers Association fall conference. I had fun signing books and meeting intrepid booksellers.

neibame

Thanks to author Lisa Papademetriou, whose A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic is just out, for the picture above and the less glam shot below from Megan Lambert, author of Reading Picture Books with Children, who kindly asked if someone had taken a photo of me signing before snapping this. There’s the victory of getting a book published and another of finding your car in a big convention center garage.

jcaparkinggarage

I’ve felt so welcomed into the community of historical fiction lovers and am in awe of bloggers who’ve started conversations with me and with their readers. I thank Diana for hosting me on her blog, Sending You to Yesteryear One Book at a Time, where I talk about origins of my novel, favorite reading, and give advice to aspiring novelists. At CT Commie Tiger Mommy, Marina and I consider Victorian fashions, suffrage, and sisterly rivalry. It was great to engage with a history-loving artist at American Girls Art Club in Paris .. and Beyond. Her questions about women (who gets called “difficult?”), art and history (what are some particular challenges women face in studios?) brought to mind some of the conversations May Alcott might have had with Mary Cassatt.

I’m really looking forward to my book launch at the Odyssey Bookshop this Tuesday Oct. 13 at 7 p.m. As I write, that’s also called tomorrow. I’ll talk a bit about my book’s origins in not quite ancient history, read a few pages, and show some slides of May’s work. There will be cider, cookies, candy corn, and book signing. Meanwhile, baking and reading. I have recipes and printed pages, but there’s always a reminder of a sprawl of eggs, butter, words: the delightful mess where so much begins.

IMG_1429

Responses

  1. I am very much looking forward to this!

  2. See you tomorrow! Excited to get my own signed copy (and pick up one for the winner of my blog drawing). xoxox

  3. Both pics look great and what a great place to get that Little Woman out in the world. I’m sure your book launch event will be wonderful . . . wish I could be there. I’ve been dragging around 3 pounds of candy corn to my fall events, so poorly attended (rain one week, postponed events due to rain the next) that I’m eating it myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

