Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 7, 2015

Finding a Way Back to Quiet Words

Every day and year has its rhythms, its times for silence and sociability. Or at least for a writer it should. Sometimes we introverts have to make an effort to get out and talk to the living and real, and sometimes we must wrestle our way to the silence necessary to meet the page. Often little chores call from the kitchen. Or there’s a racket from questions, rejoinders, reminders, jokes, puppy pictures, etc. on the social part of my laptop – which dangerously merges with the writing part. Yes, things need to get done, but there’s another discipline that demands that much of life be put aside. The chores are both necessary and distractions. When it’s time to write something new, I need to pin them to a list and tell them to wait their turn.

Sometimes the hardest part of writing is getting through the chatter in my own head. It’s a strange discipline: forgetting for a while that the rest of the world exists. The rituals toward that space are different from those of other tasks. There’s no list to follow. Everything gets stirred or kicked up as we go long. I’m happy when I enter, but that doesn’t keep me from coming back out to check that the list is still there or cut up a peach and be stunned that it’s October and peaches are still delicious. Why didn’t I put eating a peach on that list, so I could make some headway?

mushroom

Then we duck back to the world we’re creating, hoping to find an edge of gorgeousness, the merest strand of something that charms, that we can let tug us forward into what didn’t exist before. That woods. Find it.

Responses

  1. “…. an edge of gorgeousness, the merest strand of something that charms, that we can let tug us forward. . .” Beautiful, Jeannine…. Thank you. xox

    • Thanks, Amy, and for giving us glimpses, and more, to light a path.

  2. Lovely. And I very much need this as I try to find my way back into the work – a task made more challenging this week since I have company.

    • Yes, real people are even noisier than ones in the head. But I hope you are enjoying those real ones.

  3. This is exactly what I needed to read today.”Getting through the chatter in my own head” has been a huge challenge for me lately. “To duck back in…to find an edge of gorgeousness…” Such a beautiful description of the magic of writing. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you for reading and writing. I write what I need to straighten out in my mind or hear myself, but it’s lovely to know it resonates with other writers.

  4. Wow, what a perfect description of both introverts and creativity, love it!

  5. Thanks, Susan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

