Posted by: jeannineatkins | September 2, 2014

September

Fall is filled with new chances. I’m finishing up a picture book manuscript about a poet in Tang Dynasty China. I’ve still got the four chapters of a new novel I wrote about a month ago, but they are a denser four chapters, the weaving more certain. And sketches of chapters to come, with magic. I sent out some manuscripts, though people speak of publishers vacationing through much of August. Apparently I am a person of stubborn hope.

This afternoon I left the Chengdu Mountains and Brocade River to go for a post Labor Day swim. The beach was quiet, with a few ducks, some mothers holding babies in the shade, and children intent on digging. “Let’s make a tunnel to the lake,” one boy told another. They began. Others amiably filled a toy bulldozer to make a volcano. I swam past some brown ducks and made bubbles with my strokes, such as I thought might have appeared in China’s Brocade River over a thousand years ago. 

On the way home I stopped at a farm stand to buy peaches and a mix of Paula Reds and Ginger Golds. 

CIMG2733

Responses

  1. You have been busy, Jeannine…but not busy enough to forget taking pleasure in the world around you. Love the scene you painted at the beach.

  2. Thank you, Tara. And I wish you the best as you welcome some lucky sixth graders!

  3. What a lovely way to turn the calendar page…I’m working on mine now. Here’s to falling leaves and clinging hope, crisp apples and fresh chances. xo

    • I know your fall looks different on the other coast, but sending you wishes for the best of new chances in your new home.

  4. I’m stubbornly hopeful, too. I’m off to the beach tomorrow. I love it post Labor Day.

    • Angela, thanks for finding me here on wordpress! Yes, it looks like another beach day here, too. I’m eating one of those Ginger Golds with almond butter, then packing up my muddled poem and bathing suit, and off to see that tunnel to the lake, or maybe different kids digging, and the ducks. Such a nice noise there, with cicadas. Enjoy your spot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

