Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 16, 2011

Salley Mavor at the Brattleboro Museum and Art Center

Yesterday was one of those perfect summer days – not too hot, not too humid. I enjoyed writing on the porch, and in the evening, Peter and I drove north to Vermont for an opening at the Brattleboro Museum and Art Center. Several exhibits said to blur boundaries between art and craft were opening. We were there for “Sewn Stories” which held perhaps two dozen works by the amazing Salley Mavor. I’m a big fan of all her books, made by photographing work she stitched from hand-dyed wool and felt, and incorporates found objects such as acorns, driftwood, old spoons, and other trinkets. I’m so happy that Pocket Full of Posies: A Treasury of Nursery Rhymes won the 2011 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for excellence in children’s literature and the Golden Kite Award for picture books. Lucky people going to the SCBWI conference in L.A. will get to hear her speak. And the exhibit in Brattleboro runs to February 5.

Peter took this picture of us standing before a sort of spiraling memoir of the artist from babyhood to the present. You can see this and more beautiful pictures of Salley’s artwork at Seven Impossible Things for Breakfast.

And here is Salley standing by one of her most recent works: Rabbitat.

Responses

  1. Salley
    Wow… This woman blows me away. What an amazing piece of art all of it.

  2. Re: Salley
    Her sense of color, whimsey, design; the way you can look and look and still see more… I think of myself as being patient, but… just wow!

  3. What I wouldn’t give to see her art in person and up close! Wow!
    Jules, also so glad she won the BGHB Award!

  4. I bought A Pocketful of Posies for my mom, but it took a long time to get to her because I had to look at it over and over. What an amazing artist! I’m so glad you got a chance to see the originals–someday I hope she exhibits her work out this way.

  5. Sometimes it’s hard for me to pick a single book that surfaces to the tiny pinnacle of best of the best, but I have no quibble with this book there! You can pore over it again and again and find more to delight.

  6. I’m glad you and your mom savored that wonderful book. It’s great to have on your lap, and in another way, great to peer through the glass (her husband makes all her frames) and see things you long to touch. I hope she does do some west coast exhibits!

  7. I love this book, too. Actually bought it after I read your review on the Eric Carle Museum site. I hope to get up there to see the exhibit.

  8. It’s a nice small museum in what looks like an old train station. And not far off Rt. 91. Hope all is going well for you: I miss your renditions of clouds this summer!

  9. Love Salley’s work SO much. Envious you got to meet her and see her creations in person. I, too, bought Pocketful of Posies after reading your review and Jules’ post, intending it as a gift. But of course I couldn’t part with it.

  10. […] of Posies, which recently won awards from the Horn Book and elsewhere (and I blogged about here, but one of my favorite books remains her Mary Had a Little Lamb. Besides stitching the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

