Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 9, 2011

Albany Children’s Book Festival

Today at the Albany Children’s Book Festival I had fun meeting people and having short conversations about women in history, poetry, and Laura Ingalls Wilder. I signed Borrowed Names for one of her descendants! I enjoyed the smiles of shy ten year old girls leaning against their mothers, and the sights of adorable children, some in tutus and sparkly shoes, and two decked out in dragon costumes. Ah spring and book festivals. I also did some quick catching up with author and illustrator friends.

Across the aisle from me, I got to watch Rose Kent,  author of novels including Rocky Road (as in ice cream), with Jo Knowles , author of Jumping off Swings, and Pearl, coming out later this year, with Katie Davis,  author-illustrator of books including Who Hops? and lover and promoter of all things kidlit. If you write, illustrate, or want to sell children’s books, check out Katie’s blog!

David Costello, who wrote and illustrated the charming I Can Help, had copies of Little Pig Joins the Band, which I believe will be officially launched this summer. Oh, I realized, he’s the cool guy painting animals down the row from me I’d been hearing about.

Also on my aisle (we were arranged alphabetically) was Nancy Castaldo, with her impressive display of nonfiction and picture books.

I sat by A.C. Bauer,  who not only was selling novels including No Castles Here, but had her daughter with her helping people make origami cranes and boxes and who kindly offered to take our picture, too, at which point I realized my camera batteries needed recharging. You’ll have to take my word for it that I was there, smiling. And – how could I miss this photo? — a pink double decker cupcake truck. 

Responses

  1. Great to see you!
    Would love to make a date to visit Northhampton for lunch and museum if you are free in the next two weeks!

  2. INTERVIEW
    Looking forward to seeing you on May 7th, and all of this wonderful group that you have mentioned. I write a column for the Hudson Catskill Newspapers. Check it out at http://www.registerstar.com
    Click on columnists and Lisa’s List. I would love to interview you before the festival, and review a book of yours. Let me know if this works for you.

  3. Sounds like a great time–there’s not much better than books and book people.

  4. Thanks, Kathy. It’s nice to be in touch online with other writers, but nice to talk, too, now and then. And lovely to see really engaged parents and their book-loving children.

  5. Re: INTERVIEW
    Hi, Lisa, Of course this would work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

