Posted by: jeannineatkins | January 24, 2011

Conversations and Raspberry Muffins

Toby Speed is starting a new feature at The Writer’s Armchair  called Three for Tea. Today she invited me and authors Clara Gillow Clark  and Blythe Woolston to talk about ways we know when we have a project worth pursuing and how we plunge in. I hope you’ll go to Toby’s blog for green tea, oatmeal cookies, to listen in and, if you like, add your own take on how you know you’ve hit on an idea you can take through the long haul – or that will take you through.

I wish I could put out a plate of the muffins I made yesterday, but here’s the recipe:

Raspberry Muffins (makes 9 of hefty size)

Ingredients:
Two and a half cups flour
One Tablespoon baking powder
One third to a half cup sugar
One egg
One cup buttermilk (or add one Tablespoon white vinegar to one cup milk and let sit a minute)
Four tablespoons vegetable oil
One cup raspberries – may be frozen

Preheat the oven to 400. Line muffin tins with paper liners. Mix dry ingredients. Beat the eggs with milk and oil. Add this to dry ingredients and blend quickly and lightly; do not beat. Fold in the berries. Spoon into pans and bake about 20 minutes until golden-brown.-ish.

Responses

  1. WOW! These look fantastic. I need some raspberries now. Thank you, Jeannine. And what a treat that you’re over at Toby’s. See you there! A.

  2. Oh, yum! And thanks for the buttermilk suggestion, too, which is very handy for those of us living where buttermilk’s scarce. Looking forward to checking out Three for Tea!

  3. Mmmmmmmm. Must try these muffins :). Thanks, Jeannine.

  4. Yummmmm! I’m definitely going to try these!!

  5. Say, there’s that little bird we were talking about.

  6. oh yeah
    Jeannine, I think it’s time you wrote a cookbook. I’m serious. thank you for posting this recipe; it will definitely be used in this Laird household.

  7. Raspberries can help us through January, yes?

  8. Thanks for stopping by, Amy.

  9. Your bears need these muffins, I think.

  10. Thank you for stopping for muffins, Sharon! I hope they work out for you.

  11. You can draw the curtains and even pull down the screens, but the birds will fly where they need to go. Thankfully.

  12. Re: oh yeah
    These were the muffins to be had at many a morning when Em’s friends slept over. Now they’re really too much for two people, but now and again… I hope you and Kelly and Ian enjoy them!

  13. Oh, my gosh, those look heavenly. Yum.
    Thank you for sharing the link! I hadn’t seen it; will check it out now. Have a great week!

  14. delicious~ I can’t wait to make these!

  15. Mmmm, and aren’t those luscious red berries and the bird and butterfly mug harbingers of summer? But in the meantime, tea, poetry, and conversations will brighten up these January days. I’m headed over…

  16. With all this snow, I think it’s the perfect time to bake muffins! I have to try your recipe. I’ve been baking a lot lately. The last thing I made about a day ago were blackberry and cornmeal muffins. They were so delicious! There’s something about eating berries in winter– it’s like a tiny whiff of summer.
    Thanks for the recipe and link!

  17. those muffins look divine. Thanks!

  18. “Once small objects or everyday moments seem to hold universal feelings, I know I have a story.”
    *happy sigh*

  19. I’m glad you went to Toby’s blog. I found your thoughts on knowing-when inspiring. Hope your week is great, too!

  20. Rachel — want to talk to Simone about a couple possible dates when the three of us can meet for coffee and writing talk? Miss you!

  21. Thanks for coming over! The tea is always better when you’re around.

  22. I like your description of a tiny whiff of summer! And the vitamin c keeps the scurvy at bay, and, hey, maybe even colds. Blackberry and cornmeal sounds delicious! I love that little cornmeal crunch.

  23. Thank you!!

  24. Love it when you make that happy sigh, Tracy.

  25. They don’t just LOOK divine…
    those muffins look divine. Thanks!
    As a longtime beneficiary of Jeannine’s great baking talents, I can attest — without a shred of exaggeration — that they not only LOOK divine, those muffins TASTE divine as well. — PL

  26. oh! sounds good! I’ll ask her.
    Miss you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

