Posted by: jeannineatkins | November 24, 2010

Thanksgiving Wishes

There’s pumpkin bread to make, a turkey to defrost, kitchen counters to clear, and a poem to shape up, but I wanted to wish everyone a happy Thanksgiving. I’ve been away from the blog this week seeing my cousin Megan and her daughter, Rachel, my daughter Emily and her roommate Colleen. Emily arranged a supper so we could meet her wonderful bosses at Organically Grown. She, Peter, and I also visited the San Diego Zoo.

While Em worked, Peter and I toured Balboa Park in San Diego. At the science museum we saw the biggest ammonites I’ve ever seen, some imprinted with gorgeous fern patterns. At the Air and Space museum, we saw lots of cool aircraft and a little boy dressed as Bat Man twirling around. It was warm enough to eat breakfast outdoors, and one day I spotted a little girl wearing silver shoes bending over a plant say, “Mama, I see the morning mist.” It’s a joy to see the ocean, and the great Pacific lets you watch the sun set over it. Wishing all of you its peace as I savor my blessings of family, friends, the gorgeous world, and memories.

Responses

  1. I’ve been to San Diego once, for work, and absolutely loved it. The zoo is amazing — I fell hard for the panda exhibit, which I toured on my own while I was pregnant with Kayley. I hope you have a very happy Thanksgiving! Keep enjoying the warmth and sunshine and family. 🙂

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your lovely family. How nice that you get to go where it’s warmer to celebrate the holiday. Of course, the real warmth comes from within you wherever you are!
    Thanks for your friendship and inspiration, Jeannine.

  3. Yes, it’s hard not to love San Diego! Hope one day you and the family can see those pandas .. the koalas were very adorable, too. Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Hope you’re getting your rightful share of pie today, Lorraine, and feeling the glow. Your friendship means a lot to me, and I’m grateful.

  5. Jeannineatkins said:
    “the koalas were very adorable, too.”
    Here’s the proof:

    –PL

  6. Isn’t it something to see the sun *set* over the ocean? But even better to see a daughter!

  7. “Isn’t it something to see the sun *set* over the ocean? But even better to see a daughter!”
    It is pretty cool to watch an ocean sunset, I’ll admit. But I think I still prefer the ocean on this end of the US.
    And you’re right about seeing a daughter… better than any sunset! — PL

  8. It’s wonderful to see Em thriving, even if we feel she lives too far away. My heart is thankful. Now I’m looking forward to December and hoping to catch sight of you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

