Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 10, 2010

October and Pink Leaf Hats

On Friday I hit the Send button – joy, terror — then since have gone on two bicycle rides with my husband. I framed foliage photos in my mind, but kept the camera in my pocket, knowing I’d never get the wonder of the red, yellow, and orange, or that other photographers have done it better. But believe me, there was pleasure. I know others find the season less than amazing. A friend finds the colors gaudy. Another sees right past the brilliance to bare branches, so fall is only a harbinger of winter. And sometimes terrible things happen on a beautiful day, and it’s hard to know just what to do with ourselves.

I’m not sure why October, which in Massachusetts usually starts out bright and ends up kind of bitter, is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, but I’m celebrating friends who are getting their first mammograms and those who’ve been doing it so long they’re practically pulling off their shirts in the hallway. It’s not a big deal, and early detection has done a lot to turn this disease from one that was terrifying when I was growing up to one that of course still has its horrors, but that has a pretty decent rate of going into remission. Science has made strides, and I’m glad for organizations like Stand Up to Cancer http://www.standup2cancer.org/ that help fund research into cures and causes: is it what we eat or breathe, where we live, bad luck, or combinations that have made too many people we love sick?

I’m proud that my daughter works for a company that wonders how what we wear, particularly what touches the sensitive skin of babies and children, may affect our lifelong health. I’m passing on the following from Emily and making an order. Presents? And maybe it’s time I retire the Red Sox cap she left in the mudroom, or save it for the garden.

This October marks the 25th anniversary of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month. In honor of this milestone, Organically Grown has created an 100% organic cotton baseball cap embroidered with the color of the month…Pink!

This month reminds us all of the importance of searching for a cure, and doing what we can to support this effort. For every purchase of our Pink Leaf hat, 20% of the proceeds will go to Stand Up to Cancer…Look stylish while making a difference!

Link: http://organicallygrowngroup.com/promotions/think-pink

According to the Organic Trade Association, over 450 million pounds of pesticides are applied on conventional cotton each year. Seven of the ten pesticides most commonly used on cotton are on the EPA’s list of known, likely, or probable human carcinogens. At Organically Grown, we offer affordable products that are made from 100% organic cotton..grown free of harmful pesticides.

The cure is within our reach. Think Pink with Organically Grown as we join in the fight against breast cancer.

P.S. from Jeannine. Circling back to the topic of foliage pictures, which are tough, but I like this one my husband took this morning when letting out the dogs.


Responses

  1. Great way to pull October together! And good for your daughter for having a job that matters beyond the paycheck.

  2. Autumn is my favorite season and the one I most enjoyed while I was in the US last year. My breath caught in my chest almost every day by the unexpected intense colors. We don’t get those here in Brazil. I miss it. 😦

  3. Congratulations on hitting that send button! And here’s a cheer for gaudy trees — and for cotton caps made without pesticides.

  4. Congratulations on hitting that send button, Jeannine!
    And how wonderful that your daughter is working at such a thoughtful company. I’m going to buy one of those caps too, for my dear friend who was just diagnosed with stage two breast cancer and is in the throes of chemo.

  5. Thanks, Kathy. I know you have many reasons to be proud of your daughter, too. We’re lucky!

  6. There’s always something to be missed when you’re a world traveler. I think autumn may be my favorite season, too. The smoky smell of leaves, the faintly decaying apples, the yellow fern, and asters.. wish I could send you a breathful.

  7. Thanks, Amy, for all the cheers. There’s nothing at all wrong with gaudy trees or gaudy anything really. I’m glad the trees do their last hurrah for a while with pazazz.

  8. Hit send, and on to the next thing. And what a wonderful friend you are to so many. I hope your friend is tolerating the chemo as well as possible and it does what it needs to do as swiftly as possible. Thank you for your sweetness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

