Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 5, 2010

KidLit Con and the Cybils Awards

I try to avoid commenting on time’s where-did-it-go-to nature, but I was surprised to realize I’ve been blogging for just over three years. It still seems pretty new. I like the way it sometimes asks me to take an outside look at the inner process, and especially how it lets me be in touch with people around the country. Like my daughter and her old friends Zach and Liz, and her roommate Colleen; with people overseas, like Amy, and someone across the table, like my husband, and people I don’t know: thank you for reading! It’s also been wonderful getting to know like-minded people online, and I’m very excited to get to meet bloggers and poets like Toby, Laura, Susan, Mary Lee and others at KidLit Con http://kidlitcon2010.blogspot.com/ to be held in Minneapolis later this month. I’m also excited to get to see a lovely person I’ve known not online, but since she was a baby. Samantha’s in her first semester at Macalester College there, and I look forward to seeing a bit of her world.

Bloggers also have their own book awards, and Cybils nominations for beloved books published in the past year can come from anyone until October 15. Click on this link http://www.cybils.com/ for more information Thank you, Jenny jenny_moss, for nominating Borrowed Names in the Poetry category! I’m still pondering my own nominations, which I tend to do shortly before the deadline, though it means books I wanted to cheer for have already been named and I have to stretch my mind about publication dates. It’s fun to read the lists and remember books that bedazzled me or that I meant to read, a reminder to get offline and ruffle some pages.

It’s going to be a hard-writing week, with a glimpse of an end to a pretty-finished draft in view. Thrilling and nerve-wracking. Will this be it? Did I save the right words?

Responses

  1. I’ll be at Kidlit Con, too. I look forward to meeting you!

  2. Wonderful! Thanks for letting me know!

  3. Waving from here in the UK, Jeannine, though a little apologetically, given the scarcity of my posts lately. But I’m so happy to hear you’re so close to the end! (And I’m betting you saved the right words.)

  4. Happy Bloggiversary. I, for one, am very happy you’re here! And yay to Jenny for nominating BORROWED NAMES. I must have missed the announcement that Cybil noms were open. Ack!

  5. Thanks for your faith, Amy. At last peek, I was happy with most words. But it’s time to peek again in a few moments. Let’s hope I’m not horrified, though that can always be fixed. And will be.
    Good luck with your new words.

  6. Oh, Debbi, you’re one of those I’m so glad I’ve gotten to know online and still happier to have those few wonderful encounters in real life!
    (I’m thrilled that your friend Susan plans to come from California!)

  7. Congratulations on the three years and the almost-finished draft. Hope you’re planning your “finished draft” celebration.

  8. Happy blogging anniversary, Jeannine. I’m glad you’re blogging, too, or I might not ever have met you. And soon I’ll meet you in person, at Kidlit.con.
    Love your question: did I save the right words? I spent much of today trashing lots and lots of wrong words in one small – but important – paragraph until I was left with just eight words. But I’m pretty sure they’re the right words. 🙂 Applause to you on approaching the end to your draft.

  9. My first ever nomination was your book, and I was very happy (and not at all surprised) to see it was already nominated!
    Happy LJ birthday–I’m so happy to have met you on line, and one of these days I hope to get a chance to meet you in person. Thanks for all your inspiring posts, Jeannine.
    And I’m thinking you’ve not only saved the right words, but put them in the right order as well. 😉
    Sending tea and scones over for your rigorous writing week.

  10. Thanks, Kathy. Mini-celebration baking pumpkin muffins this afternoon on an I’m-almost-there break: so get to breathe warm cinnamon and maple syrup air on an almost final haul. And bigger celebration next week when my husband and I are going to the Cape for a few days. Not that my mind won’t wander to … the next book.

  11. Toby, I really look forward to meeting you and other poets in person!
    And to reading those eight excellent words.
    Thanks for the applause as I reach the end. It’s a good sign when I flip pages and nod, though now and then there’s a grimace and I whip out the pen again.

  12. Thanks for your kind words and company, Lorraine.
    And was dreaming of your scones this morning. This afternoon I’m scheduling a baking break. Cranberries, pumpkins, butter… mmm


Leave a Reply

Categories

