Posted by: jeannineatkins | September 8, 2010

Borrowed Names Interview with Bethany Hegedus

Now and then I give talks to aspiring writers and other people. One leaves lecture platforms as we mostly leave classrooms, our books, or just about anything –say, parenting — wondering what the heck, if anything, got through. I was lucky enough to have one listener approach me years later and tell me that my words had mattered to her. Bethany Hegedus and I are now friends and colleagues, and it was a thrill to read her first novel, Between Us Baxters, which is about friendships in a small Southern town at the beginning of the Civil Rights Movement. Bethany’s next novel, Truth with a Capital T, is coming out this fall, and more books will follow. Yay!

She just posted an interview with me that touches on Borrowed Names, mothers and daughters, theme, craft books, and Little Women, which you can read on her blog at: http://bethanyhegedus.livejournal.com/5318.html She’s doing a whole series of interviews, so you may want to be her LJ friend and not miss these or her news from the active Austin, Texas children’s book community.

Thank you, Bethany, for the interview and for calling me prolific, which I don’t think anyone’s called me before. I’m trying not to feel like I should type faster.

Responses

  1. Prolific doesn’t necessarily require speed. Take your time, do it right . . .

  2. Lovely interview, Jeannine. And I think of you as prolific, too! No need to type faster — your existing work already speaks for itself.

  3. I just loved the interview, which makes sense since it was you and Bethany! Thanks for doing it…

  4. You’re right, Kelly. My speed setting is everybody else’s just-past-slow.

  5. Thanks for your ever kind words, Amy. Although I think prolific may just be another word for getting older: just sweeter.

  6. Thank you, Liz! Glad you sometimes get to bathe in Bethany’s bright light.

  7. And you are kind to read and counsel with all that’s going on in your home. I was thinking of you when I reviewed Remarkable Creatures two days ago, as Jane Austen makes a cameo in Tracy Chevalier’s afterword. Apparently she had a small chest with a lid that needed fixing she brought to Mary Anning’s father. But his fee was too high, as Jane records in a letter to her sister. But such makes my heart thump. Mary Anning and Jane Austen may have seen each other!!

  8. That mention has tickled a memory during my research. I’m going to look it up before I say more about it, though, on the off chance that I’m confused and going to inadvertently slander Mr. Anning!

  9. You are such a good researcher! Writing Mary Anning and the Sea Dragon, I had to see Mary’s father through her eyes: a dad who taught her to look for fossils and died too young. Pretty wonderful. But of course there was more, and Tracy Chevalier’s vision of him isn’t too pretty. Not just because he maybe tried to get too much money from Jane Austen!

  10. Type faster!
    Jeannine, you are both profound and prolific! Thank you for the nice shout out and I am so glad we became friends and colleagues. I know your words reached more than just me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

