Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 11, 2010

Picasso, Degas, and Swimming

My niece Rachel just visited before leaving Brooklyn for Berkeley to start grad school. We saw “Picasso Looks at Degas” at the Clark Art Institute http://www.clarkart.edu/exhibitions/picasso-degas/content/exhibition.cfm

Pablo Picasso famously, or mythically, said: Good artists borrow, great artists steal.”

But like many who speak memorable lines, did he mean it? The bravado and decisiveness of stealing appeals, but I thought the back and forth of borrowing held more truth as I looked at the paintings and sculptures of the two artists, who at once point lived in the same Paris neighborhood but probably never met, were put side by side. In notes along the way, we read about homage, echoes, exaggeration, and reflections and saw women ironing or bathing in similar poses, but with different qualities to the lines. I enjoyed Degas paintings I’ve never seen: an early portrait of an old women in amazing tones of brown, umber, and gold; a predominantly red painting making a woman brushing a girl’s hair have almost the energy of a bull fight.

There was one roomful of ballerinas, and an examination of how Picasso’s first marriage affected his subject matter, and another of brothels and bars. The rest of the wonderful show was pretty much devoted to women with bath tubs or an occasional book.

Then on the way home, with the temperature hovering close to three digits, we stopped at Savoy Mountain State Forest http://www.mass.gov/dcr/parks/western/svym.htm, where the water was clear and cool. My husband took this picture of Rachel and me on a rock. You can click on the image a few times to see it closer, or just trust me, we were smiling.

Responses

  1. What a great photo! I would be smiling too if I were witness to that beautiful scenery.

    The Picasso/Degas exhibit sounds really interesting. Degas has a birthday coming up on the 19th :). *twirls away in imaginary tutu*

  2. Three digits? Heavens! I’m amazed you’re smiling and not melting.

    Wonderful painting… one that would make a good companion to Cassatt’s “Mother Combing her Child’s Hair” (though neither has quite the fire that such hair brushing provokes around here).

  3. Oooh, just a few days after Bastille Day you get to twirl! My niece loves Picasso, but my husband and I are more Degas people, and his range here was particularly stunning. Perfect way to stay out of the heat.

  4. I think it’s been record breaking heat. Or if not, it should be.

    The reproduction really doesn’t do justice the intent reds, or the energy of Degas’s lines. I think he did feel how that can be pleasurable — or not at all.

  5. Okay, NEXT time you go, you need to see the Greene & Greene craftsman house in Pasadena. (I think you may have to call ahead for times, or even to schedule, but totally worth it.) And did you eat at the Cold Springs tavern on the stage coach route? You’re going around all my old stomping grounds, and I love thinking about you and Emily there. 🙂

  6. can i print the notebook layout with lines on it on microsoft office 2011?
    Window Update error 80072EFE?why is there a green line in my youtube videos?does any one no where to get a cheap 500gb pc harddrive?I CANNOT get rid of my “Artemis!” viruses!!!!! Help?
    is formspring.me down? przełyk barreta I recently purchased an HP Desk JET 1000 (no frills) printer?What should I do – HELP?Itunes WON’T OPEN [[AVFoundationCF.dll (error 126) not found]] HELP?Cant view folder on SD card?What excel formula do I need to add up hours worked, and minus breaks?does anyone know if there is a way to use myyearbook IM from my desktop?Which laptop to play wow on? objawy wrzodów Refluks przełykowy refluks żołądka Why Doesn’t Auto Complete or URL Select Use Proper Capitalization?Typography/Graphic Design Question?All music from itunes deleted help!?Why do the fonts for data labels in excel 2007 change when I save for 2003?[/url] [url=http://truepraiseproductions.org/guest_book.htm]refluks przełyku[/url]
    Change the zoom of a page based on screen width using Javascript?How do I get Windows 7 to only run the essential processes in Task Manager?Where to get a mic for videos for youtube? [url=http://refluks24.pl]Refluks[/url] native SATA support problem to install win xp ?Stick Figure Java Program Help?Home button problems?

  7. I would really like to respond to various Kidnapping (game) attempts on Facebook, but can’t. Why?
    Help with excel 2010….. Thanks?Minecraft new server help?How to use PHP srand() function?lost video clips help?
    What is a good quality software Synthesizer for playing MIDI? refluks żołądkowo przełykowy objawy can you put a macbook 2010 battery in a macbook 2009?How to add memory to galaxy s phone?Data Flow Diagram of school management system?How do I log on my android massenger I have al ready down loaded it ?”helpful” box on the right hand side of new facebook account?What’s better? Sapphire or VisionTek?Problems with internal mic – TOSHIBA? refluks u dziecka Choroba refluksowa przełyku refluks żołądkowy dieta remote desktop for ipad question?What video editing software can I use to do this…?How do you animate a character drawing a sword in 3dsMax?Upgrading the ASUS G53JW XT-1?[/url] [url=http://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=30172845&postID=6311990377791654583&page=1&token=1311651381288]choroba refluksowa przełyku[/url]
    do u have to make a youtube video or can just put picture and your voice?Can I play Bubble Island Game without Facebook account, for example on another website.?has anyone downloaded pro tools 9 from frostwire? [url=http://refluks24.pl]Refluks[/url] Is it possible to disable commenting on photo albums in facebook?Why can I NOT do a full lookup for IP Address for 10.151.107.17?Is cain and abel safe?

  8. C# If-Statements, Various ways to output a message and Modules?
    Does Brightness or Saturation affect Toner usage?I don’t really understand myspace home page?i dont wanna buy. i already have the gateway nv55c?lost video clips help?
    how do i change or hide my age on dailybooth? ciąża zgaga Install Windows 7 to external hard drive?Google Chrome error…………..?Win XP: How to make sure the path is valid?How to show full size picture in MS Paint?I Need A Youtube Intro…Please Help Me!!!?Why wont zombie farm work on facebook?what is wrong with the codecs in after effects cs5? refluks jak leczyć Refluks przełykowy wrzody żołądka Intel® Ultimate N WiFi Link 5300?Skype won’t let me view video/?Every single day I play the same video on windows media player but all the sudden today it doesn’t work?Firefox won’t load windows?[/url] [url=http://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=14575958&postID=8187810009226679994&page=1&token=1311698528089]choroba refluksowa przełyku[/url]
    While using C in linux, why does printf(“33[H33[J”); clear the terminal screen?metasploit framework 3.5.1 installation error?How do I slow down a song/clip in Ableton Live for mixing/blending purposes? [url=http://refluks24.pl]Refluks[/url] How do I get my computer to recognize cd in my dvd drive?IMVU texture help (ignore this thing)?How can I disable write protect?


Leave a Reply

Categories

