Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 7, 2010

All the Not Knowing

I’m moving into new territory with my revision. Which is exciting: there’s so much I don’t know. And horrible and scary: there’s so much I don’t know.

It’s a necessary phase. If you want to create something new to the world, it probably has to be at least partly all new to you, too. You don’t want readers to feel that they read this, or something very much like it, already. So you hurl yourself into some kind of abyss, shining lights this way and that. Something sticks, followed by doubt.

And more doubt. Which is the nature of exploration. Un-traveled roads can be exciting. What I try to remember is not to aim the doubt at myself, asking: Is this mission crazy? Can I handle it? Did I set off in an absolutely wrong direction?

This stage of writing is full of not-knowing, and may be a sign that we’re heading toward something new and possibly good, maybe even great. We’re the ones with the pens, flashlights, ripped maps and good-gripping sneakers. We’re in the right place. Believe it. I’m trying.

Responses

  1. Hang in there. And bring fresh batteries for the flashlight. 🙂

  2. I’m cheering you on! xoxo

  3. I’ve got your back, Jeannine. And am wearing my good-gripping sneakers, just in case. You can do it!!!

  4. Thanks, Becky! I’m sending virtual batteries back to you, too!

  5. Love your cheers, Debbi. Am sending some back across the continent!

  6. I know you’ve got my back, Tracy, and I so appreciate it. I hope lots of your great energy is going straight into your manuscript, maybe with some kicks and leaps, today. I so believe in you.

  7. To go with Becky’s batteries and Tracy’s shoes, I’m sending you a sturdy pen, guaranteed to write in even the darkest places. And lots more cheers, of course! Doubt is a constant for me, and it can make that writing cave a mighty uncomfortable place.

  8. And I am sending you cheers and good vibrations (showing my age). So far whatever you have written has been wonderful. So scary is probably good too, and doubt, because brave people always have those.
    You go girl! (Woman?)

  9. You are the kindest, Amy, and I will treasure the pen which will write in the dark. Truly I’m seeing more and more light in the cave and have complete faith that yours is full of candles just waiting to be lit.

  10. Patty, thank you for the good vibrations which I was just old enough to appreciate when the Beach Boys first sang about them. Oh those harmonies. Sending you cheers and songs back! Hope all your writing is going well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

