Posted by: jeannineatkins | May 15, 2010

The Albany Children’s Book Festival

The Albany Children’s Book Festival http://www.albanychildrensbookfestival.com/
welcomed us with a sign this morning.

And I like it when four students, one with a nametag plastered to his forehead, open the doors. The mural in the hall was what really got me though. It was too big and beautiful (and there were some easels in the way) for me to capture the whole thing, so here’s my favorite end with Marie Curie and J.K. Rowling cozy together.

I took a few pictures before the wonderful book-loving crowd arrived, and Alice Bauer http://acebauer.com/ kindly took one of me and my display. My husband made the accordion poster from a short piece I wrote about how to write a book.

Author Amanda Marrone http://www.amandamarrone.com/ brought cockroaches, which many young readers found pretty thrilling. Read her books to find the connection.

I met Sandy from the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art http://www.carlemuseum.org/

Here’s a princess admiring Jack’s House by Karen Beil http://www.karenbeil.com/karenbeil/Home.html

Some favorite moments include watching a boy silently open Get Set! Swim! and start flipping pages. His mom told me how much he liked to read. I asked him a question and he kept silently reading. And reading. And when he turned the final page, he said, “That was a good book.”

I met a second grade teacher of the all girls school who has her students dress as women from history and do reports. She bought a copy of Girls Who Look Under Rocks for the girl she said “was the best Jane Goodell ever,” and next year I hope one of her students might choose to research Mary Anning. I was glad to meet people from The Five Rivers Environmental Education Center http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/1835.html And I won’t forget the face of the girl who looked through Borrowed Names, was reminded by her mom that there were many books to consider, and came back to my table about two hours later having made her choice.

Responses

  1. What an honor to have a child choose your book! That is the reason we write, isn’t it?
    Thanks for sharing about your book signing!
    Laura Evans

  2. I won’t forget the face of the girl who looked through Borrowed Names, was reminded by her mom that there were many books to consider, and came back to my table about two hours later having made her choice.

    Oh, I looove that. 🙂

  3. Wow,
    2 conferences? Right after each other.
    If I lived in the states, I could go to some conferences. Someday . . .

  4. Well, one was a book festival, presenting to children, and the other was a conference for those of us who write or illustrate for them. Living here does have its perks, but some of the recent busy-ness is because everything that no one wants to schedule in winter, and potentially have changed by snow, gets pushed to May, or by the daring, to April.
    Good luck finishing up your VT packet!


Leave a Reply

Categories

