Posted by: jeannineatkins | May 6, 2010

Thankful Thursday

1. The end of classes is always bittersweet. There are people and books I will miss. But the sweet part is that summer is coming. Already I’ve had a few warmish days to write on the porch

2. smelling lilacs.

3. My friend Jess, who teaches yoga and stress reduction, and I walked near Smith College yesterday. We stepped over a tree that had fallen in a storm, and told my husband, who might get out there with two friends and saws. They cleared another fallen tree from the path earlier this spring, and my friend Sam, who runs there with the high school track team, was grateful: she said they were sick of jumping over it. Closer to the college, things were pristine. We admired peonies and globe flowers.

4. Jess gave me a copy of her new c.d. Sublime Relaxation http://www.jessicaberger.com/
I tested an earlier version and it was great, with a wide range of simple techniques offered in her soothing voice.

5. I’m driving with Ellen to Burlington today for the Children’s Literature New England conference where we can talk about children’s books to our heart’s content. Maybe even more. And soak up wisdom from ever-so-smart writers, illustrators, and educators. And eat good food prepared by New England Culinary Institute cooks. I’m kind of packed – plenty of books – but I’d better check clothing to be sure there’s a span for weather that could be more than chilly but might be hot. No matter. I love Vermont in all its seasons.

Responses

  1. Have a great time, Jeannine!!! Looks like a wonderful conference. So many inspirational speakers.
    🙂

  2. Thanks, Jo. And I look forward to seeing you on Tuesday!

  3. Have a wonderful time this weekend, Jeannine! I’m looking forward to hearing all about it.

  4. Thank you, Lorraine. Hope you have a good weekend and happy mother’s day!

  5. Have a great trip. Hope you packed warm, because not only is there no sign of peonies here, but the weather is supposed to be downright nippy. Snow on Mother’s Day (it won’t be a first).


Leave a Reply

Categories

