Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 26, 2010

Celebrating Borrowed Names at Amherst Books

Tomorrow, Tuesday, April 27 at 5:00 please come if you can to Amherst Books http://www.amherstbooks.com/index.shtml at 8 Main Street, a few lilac-scented (this week) blocks away from Emily Dickinson’s homestead and just across from the town hall. I’m making gingerbread with chocolate frosting, something Laura Ingalls Wilder was famous for in Mansfield, and which Jama convinced me to try after seeing the picture she posted at http://jamarattigan.livejournal.com/390056.html Here the frosting is more of a glaze, which might not have been what Laura did, but looks more appealing. And I’ll bake these as cupcakes so no one has to worry about knives or fingers. And there will be wine, juice, and cookies. And the shortest of talks.

You can see a blue blur of Borrowed Names: Poems About Laura Ingalls Wilder, Madam C. J. Walker, Marie Curie and Their Daughters in the lower left. Under the yellow reflection. I was too embarrassed stalking my book to aim the camera well. But it’s there!

I’m really looking forward to seeing friends. And thank Becky and others who promised their virtual presence: I’ll raise a glass to you and my daughter-muse. And hope to post pictures of some non-virtual friends and cupcakes.

Responses

  1. Oh, how I wish I could be there! Excited to hear about your gingerbread with chocolate glaze :9! A good compromise.
    Of course you know you can count on my virtual presence. What a cute bookstore!

  2. Yay! See you soon!!!

  3. Oh how I’d love to be there, Jeannine! I’ll be thinking of you and hoping for some pictures and perhaps a faint whiff of gingerbread and lilacs. Have a wonderful time.

  4. I’ll see you there!

  5. I’m coming, and I’m bringing my daughter!

  6. I wish I could be there. I’ll have to wait until NESCBWI to get you to sign my copy of Borrowed Names!

  7. Thank you, Jama. You will surely be there in spirit, perhaps hovering over the gingerbread which you inspired. As they say, all credit to you, but any mistakes are the fault of the baker.

  8. Can’t wait, Jo!

  9. Thank you for the good wishes, Lorraine. And I never thought of lilac and ginger and molasses together: perfect!

  10. Oh my gosh! That is so so cool! I’m pretty sure my brother-in-law, Bruce, is coming, so in my muddlement, be sure I introduce you. He paints, too, and I think you might be kindred spirits.

  11. Cindy! That is so so wonderful! I will not ask J. how studying for her finals is going. So sweet of her to slip away!

  12. Kelly, thanks! I look forward to seeing you quite soon!

  13. cool!

  14. Good luck and have fun!

  15. I wish I could be there!
    It’s going to be wonderful, Jeannie! Wish I could taste some of that frosting! Congrats, congrats!
    Love
    Kerry

  16. Thank you for the tulips! (though I do like the other flowers in your garden, too, and agree where would we be without them? Even though tulips are, well, perfect.)

  17. Re: I wish I could be there!
    Thanks for the good wishes, Kerry! And I wish I could send you some frosting.

  18. amherst books
    Wish I could be there, Jeannine! Have fun.

  19. I wish I could be there, Jeannine! I’m about to buy my third copy–I keep giving it away as gifts!!
    Congratulations on your beautiful, beautiful, book!
    (and if you have any leftover gingerbread, can you bring some to NESCBWI?)


Leave a Reply

Categories

