Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 13, 2010

Goodness and Newness

The Horn Book gives Borrowed Names a starred review in the May/June issue! http://readroger.hbook.com/2010/04/mayjune-starred-reviews.html
When I told my husband, he asked, “How many stars can you get?”
“One. So this is good.”
He’s been sweet by bringing up the star every now and then, so I don’t have to seem too obsessed. “Did you feed the dogs? And, oh, about that star…”

I have a redesigned website up! I hope you’ll take a look at http://www.jeannineatkins.com/ Please let me know if you have suggestions. I love what Barbara at Wavepaint Design and Gallery created! thttp://design@wavepaint.com/web/artist/index.htm

My husband set up my old website – thank you, Peter! – but not being in that business, it wasn’t fun to add things. It got a little awkward to have something called Upcoming Events actually be history. Peter suggested I have my website’s news and events section linked to a blog, which I can easily update myself. I hope this works. And while on the topic of events, here are a few places I’ll be talking and reading in the next few weeks, which, crossing my fingers against New England trickiness, I’m happy to be calling spring at last.

Launch Party for Borrowed Names at Amherst Books
http://www.amherstbooks.com/index.shtml on Tuesday April 27 at 5:00. My brother-in-law asked me if it will be like in the movies, with lines amid stacks of books. Well, there will be stacks of books.

Second Annual Hudson Children’s Book Festival Hudson, NY 12534 May 1, 10-4
http://hudsonchildrensbookfestival.com/authors.php

And the Second Annual Children’s Book Festival
 Albany Academy May 15, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
135 Academy Road Albany, NY
http://www.albanychildrensbookfestival.com/

All these events are free and open to the public. Come if you can!

Today is your last chance to win a copy of Borrowed Names or Anne Hutchinson’s way at Joyce’s blog moyer-girl. All you have to do is click the link and in the comments section state which book you’d like to win. Names will be drawn on April 14.

Responses

  1. Congratulations on that star!
    Also on the website! It’s very nice indeed, easy to navigate, clean, fits you and your books, and generally worked for me.

  2. Wow, congrats on the starred review!!

  3. Congratulations!

  4. Wow! Love the new website :). And congratulations again on the new star!! *twinkle twinkle*

  5. I’m still smiling about that star, Jeannine! See you soon!!
    xo

  6. A star in the Horn Book is HUGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Thanks, Kathy!

  8. Thank you, Jama!

  9. I love your smile! And love that I’ll see you soon!

  10. Thanks for all the exclamation points! Yes, it is a dream come true.

  11. I’ll be in line virtually–don’t forget to count those people! 🙂
    BE obsessed about your star. When I reviewed for the Horn Book Guide, I read some really good books & they were the ones that DIDN’T make it into the regular Horn Book & get starts. So THAT’S how fantastic your book is. Enjoy!!

  12. Congratulations on your starred review! My mother is now reading your book during her vacation in Hawaii. Picture BORROWED NAMES on the beach, near the ocean. And I do like your site — I liked the bio portion, especially, and the amount of detail you provide for each of your books. (I did not know that you had written a book about a girl on swim team. Will have to check this out.)

  13. Becky, I will never every forget my virtual friends in virtual lines. You have held my hand for so long. Thank you in advance for your beautiful presence.
    And of course I’m obsessed, but am trying not to work it into conversations with strangers in the line for groceries. But I appreciate all the hurrahs from people who know how very cool it is!

  14. The new site looks grand, Jeannine. Oh, and about that star? CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

  15. A star!
    A new website!
    and
    signings!
    this post has it all!!!

  16. I’ll see you at Hudson!
    Oh, and about that star …
    🙂

  17. How nice of your mom to take Borrowed Names on her Hawaii vacation! I’m sure the sound of waves must add a lot to the poetry. And I’m glad you like the website!

  18. Thank you!!!!!!!

  19. Well it could use a little more art… but the news is good!

  20. Oh, good! Hudson should be a lot of fun!

  21. A starred review–wonderful!! Congratulations, Jeannine, it is well deserved! In fact, this very morning, my writing time shrunk and my mint tea got cold because I had a copy of Borrowed Names in my hands and couldn’t let go. I sat on my couch and read and read. It’s simply exquisite. And now, I’m off to bed to read a little more. 🙂

  22. Lorraine, I’m so so happy you like the book! (though sorry your tea got cold)

  23. A star from Horn Book is utterly rare and so deserved by you, Jeannine. Your third starred review, I believe. Fantastic!! Sarah Lamstein

  24. Sarah, thank you for the compliment and for star-counting! xo

  25. Congrats on the starred review! That’s wonderful! And your new site looks lovely – i love the background.


Leave a Reply

Categories

