Posted by: jeannineatkins | March 30, 2010

Daughter Visit!

I’m off to UMass to teach The Secret Garden – perfect timing, with buds trying to come out in Massachusetts. Then off to the airport, where I’ll head to LAX to be picked up at midnight by my girl. I’ve got my laptop and notes to write while Emily’s at work, and we’ve got big plans for evenings and the weekend. Seeing my cousin and her husband, who’s fighting the good health fight, waiting for a go-ahead on a bone marrow transplant. Hearing, and this I won’t believe until I’m there, Paul McCartney. I yi yi! (Is that how you spell that?) Easter, and wearing shoes with open toes, which hasn’t happened for me in many months. I hope to blog from California; we might even do a mother-daughter post!

Here’s a photo of a wee nest my husband took yesterday on the edge of our yard. Will anyone be in it when I get home? Will the buds on the tree be turning into leaves? If we’re lucky, the tinted tips of forsythia will be breaking open into a yellow parade.

Responses

  1. have a wonderful time!

  2. have a great trip! we will watch for your updates!

  3. Enjoy your trip (and the warm weather)!

  4. Yay for you! Have a fabulous mother daughter visit . . .

  5. Safe travels, Jeannine. And yes, yes, yes to a mother-daughter post!

  6. Swoon. SO much goodness in this post! Mother daughter visit, SG, AND Paul McCartney? Safe travels and have a wonderful, wonderful time. Happy Easter!

  7. Thanks, Jen!

  8. Thanks, Laura! Have a creative week!

  9. Thank you, Jeni. it’s cold and rainy here, so hard to get into the proper packing frame of mind. Stay away from black corduroy!

  10. Thanks, Tami!

  11. Thanks for the swoons and well wishes. I peeked back at your Secret Garden post: maybe you should reprise that every spring or so? It’s full of beauty.
    I may cry as much through Paul as I do through the end of Secret Garden. Between that and Charlotte’s Web…

  12. Happy trip to you, Jeannine! I’m looking forward to hearing all about your adventures especially through a mother/daughter post.
    And what a sweet little nest. I wonder what will be in it when you get back.

  13. Enjoy that trip to a warmer clime and step keen in your sandals! That is the sweetest nest ever! It’s got everything in it! Our forthysia has been spraying yellow fountains for a few weeks . . . waiting for lilac.

  14. Mom, do you have an outfit for Paul??
    Love,
    Em
    reachoutandreadlosangeles.blogspot.com

  15. Safe travels, Jeannine! And happy spring, too, even if you have to go west to find it! A mother-daughter post sounds wonderful.

  16. Mmmnnnn, lilac. I’ll have that to look forward to when I get back, and maybe, maybe, sun.

  17. Amy, thank you for stopping by amid all you’re doing and wishing me a good trip. Emily does miss the pleasures of rain, but I am ready for a break. Love reading Secret Garden but some real grassy sorts of smells will be so nice. And a daughter’s hug. xo

  18. Your trip to LA
    Have a wonderful time and say hello to my home town. My trip there is long overdue.

  19. YOU!
    Jeannine!
    Have a wonderful trip and adventure with Emily in LA! Say “Hey” to her for me and let her know that we are proud of her for getting a new job so quickly! Enjoy!
    Bruce and Catherine

  20. Have a wonderful time in our beautiful state. Wish you had a brief layover in San Jose. 🙂

  21. Happy Travels!


Leave a Reply

Categories

