Posted by: jeannineatkins | February 27, 2010

Right Before Your Eyes

I know everyone is sick of snow stories. Snow wrecked plans and made a mess of the roads around here, not to mention the lilac bush outside my kitchen window. I won’t be doing any sniffing in the spring. I’m hoping the forsythia bushes are just bent and not broken under the snow mounds.

Okay, enough. This morning I get to write and look out at a monochromatic world. Sky, earth, trees, all white with hints of the palest blue on scaffolds of green so deep it’s almost black. It’s actually lovely until you think of putting on your jacket.

It’s a day when it’s best to take your eyes off the long view and just look close.

photo by my husband, Peter.

Responses

  1. Oooh, so beautiful! What kind of bird is that? The frost-covered branches are almost magical. I admit, though, that I was puzzled at first by the black blob in the middle of the frame. Until, that is, I clicked on the image to embiggen it. Voila, a lovely bird jumped out at me then. So yeah…that proves your point, doesn’t it? 🙂
    PS Totally different subject: Are you participating in a blog tour around the time of your book release?

  2. The bird I believe is called junko, or sometimes, snowbird, and black blob works, too. Thanks for sending over your hummingbird for a peek. I hope we get to see some early garden pictures from you soon!
    I haven’t been bold or organized enough to try to arrange a blog tour for my book’s release. But that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t love to do an interview with you or anyone else if it were to be proposed! Q and A’s are always fun.

  3. I’m keeping my Q & A sessions limited to books that somehow relate to my own story. (If you look back on my Authors’ Tent interviews, you’ll no likely see that’s my pattern–which is why, also, that I’ve invited Varian Johnson to talk with me about SAVING MADDIE. That interview’s scheduled for 3/8.) So yeah, long story short, I’ve been thinking for awhile now about the fact that your book intersects with mine (in that I make several references to LITTLE WOMEN, the mother relationship especially). Send me a PM if you want to talk about this further. 🙂

  4. Keeping to the Author’s tent makes sense. I loved your interview with Sara Zarr and look forward to this upcoming one with Varian.
    And sometime we’ll have to have another Little Women conversation! (If only Louisa May Alcott could have visited your Author’s Tent. And thank goodness for her mother; it’s her father I find so problematic.) Okay, enough digressions!

  5. Love the picture! Your husband’s got a great eye. Yes, it’s good to take our focus off the problems sometimes, and look for the little blessings.

  6. What a gorgeous shot! I love the way the snow outlines the branches, the dots of snowflakes behind it, and the little bird in the center of it all. It’s got motion and stillness at the same time–wonderful!
    But I know it’s been a long winter for you on the east coast, and I’m hoping you get blossoms soon.

  7. Hello, lovely junco!

  8. Thanks for stopping by and your calm voice. Snow has fallen off the branches now, but a cardinal came this morning. Oh, red!

  9. Thanks Lorraine! As soon as the snow melts off the forsythia and they, hopefully straighten up, I’m cutting a bunch to force inside.
    Dreaming of yellow….

  10. Beautiful! Especially from here, where I’m sitting barefoot in my house! 🙂

  11. I’m glad my husband could see that beauty, because he more than I has severe spring fever. The snow hasn’t been great for cross country skiing this weather, but it’s been tolerable often enough that it has some use.
    I also got in plenty of couch time, including some with your great book. I plan to blog about it tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

