Posted by: jeannineatkins | January 18, 2010

ALA Pictures

I’m so excited to hear about the award winners, since I loved When You Reach Me, The Lion and the Mouse, Almost Astronauts, and other books. I’m making lists of books new to me I want to read. And it’s fun to read posts from those who browsed between booths at ALA on Saturday, even though I see people and books I missed. It was overwhelming, but here are a few happy encounters from Saturday, starting with Bethany Hegedus http://www.bethanyhegedus.com signing Between us Baxters in the WestSide Booth.

Varian Johnson http://www.varianjohnson.com signing My Life as a Rhombus at the Flux booth, with Ellen Wittlinger laughing in the background.

Margaret Chang signing her new novel Celia’s Robot from Holiday House.
http://www.holidayhouse.com/

And here is a baby delighted with her very first signed book. She cooed and kicked gorgeously, so sorry no sound and motion!

Thank you to everyone, including those came to my blog and cheered (my husband was wowed by your generosity and passion!), for making my first trip to an ALA convention so much fun! Now back to prepping for class — semester at UMass begins tomorrow and I’ll be bringing this year’s Caldecott so the English majors can look at Jerry Pinckney’s Lion and Mouse and name ways a story be told without words.

Responses

  1. Good to see you, Jeannine! Congrats on the stars and thanks for the spontaneous signing. Can’t wait to read your book. I’ve already been showing it off 🙂

  2. How exciting to be there!

  3. Way to go, seizing on the awards as a way to convey an important lesson. I’d love to see your thoughts on this, too.

  4. The spontaneous signing with you, Edith, and others was a highlight. Thanks for showing off the book, Anindita!

  5. Yes! And exciting to have so much to read — if a bit daunting (time?)

  6. Thanks, Melodye. I know the next week or two are going to be a bit crammed, but I will try to blog when I can.

  7. Thanks for the mini tour. So glad you could be there!

  8. Joyce, it would have been nice, of course, to see you, but at least I saw Comfort on display.

  9. Well that is comforting! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Sounds like a wonderful way to start the class off! Hope it goes well.

  11. Congrats!
    Congrats Jeannine!! I read a little taste of your book at amazon…and look forward to reading more..it brought me back to my own “Little House” Days
    When will your book be out in local stores?
    Margaret aka Ladies night out

  12. I heard that some of my cohort classmates ran into you at the exhibit floor, but sadly I didn’t 😦
    But congratulations on Borrowed Names! I absolutely cannot wait until March to pick up my own copy!
    -Ann

  13. Re: Congrats!
    Hi, Margaret, You can be sure I’ll let you know as soon as it’s available locally, sometime in March. Both Rebecca at Odyssey and Nat at Amherst Books said they’d be ordering. Thank you for asking!

  14. Sorry not to see you, but glad to see from your blog you had fun. Your classmates seem to think of me as the Lady with the Suitcase of Books. What can I say? I’m sure I’ll see you around somewhere soon. Good luck with all.

  15. I’m so glad we were able to see each other at the tweet up. Hopefully we’ll have a longer time to catch up. Congrats on your book–I’m looking forward to reading it in March!
    BTW, my third grader is learning all about dinosaurs. Yesterday she came home and couldn’t stop talking about Mary Anning. We were looking up books at the bookstore–how did I miss you wrote a book about her? Third grader hopes to get your autograph.

  16. I will be glad for you to read Borrowed Names, as you certainly are an expert on mothers and daughters! And of course I’m enchanted with your Mary Anning loving third grader. And grateful FSG has kept Mary Anning in the Sea Dragon in print for 11 years. At ALA I picked up a copy of Tracy Chevalier’s new novel for adults, Remarkable Creatures, about Anning, and look forward to immersing myself in that world again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

