Posted by: jeannineatkins | January 17, 2010

ALA, Stars, and Friends

Shortly before I headed to the American Library Association convention, my editor sent me news that Borrowed Names, my book coming out in March, got its first reviews and both were starred. School Library Journal wrote: “The images created bring powerful emotions to the surface, felt by the women profiled here and by those who read this gem that belongs in any literary cedar chest, as well as in every collection.” So I floated my way to Boston. Jo jbknowles and Cindy cfaughnan gave me kind words and hugs, and Jo took this picture of me with the advanced reader copy in the Holt booth.

Roaming the convention hall, it was fun to see old friends and meet a few new ones, while looking at fresh books. Sarah Lamstein http://www.sarahlamstein.com always makes me laugh, and I’m very excited about her book about salamanders coming out soon from Boyds Mills Press.

At the twitter meetup, I was too happy to be with Amy Greenfield historymaven to meet many people, but here is Amy with Anna Alter http://www.annaalter.com, who wrote and illustrated Abigail Spells, a favorite book of Amy’s daughter.

I couldn’t let Amy out of my clutch, but I shared. Here she is with Vivian Lee Mahoney http://hipwritermama.blogspot.com/

Now there seem like so many pictures I didn’t take, but I have a few more I’ll post tomorrow, including of one of an adorable baby holding her first signed book.

Responses

  1. So glad about the starred reviews. Did I tell you I got My Double Life and Comstock’s Handbook of Nature Study? You lead me into interesting places. Can hardly wait to see the new book.

  2. Nice pics. 🙂
    Super huge congratulations on those stars, Jeannine!!

  3. Huge congrats on the starred reviews! That must’ve been the best feeling to carry with you throughout the convention.
    It’s nice seeing you and Amy. 🙂

  4. Woo hoo – STARS!!! And ALA fun!!
    Couldn’t happen to a nicer person!

  5. Squee! So happy for you. Stars are definitely nice :). Love the photos.

  6. Yay for your book!! And thanks so much for sharing the photos!

  7. Woo hoo, two starred reviews for you!
    “…this gem that belongs in any literary cedar chest…”
    LOVE that line.

  8. So great to see you! And congratulations on those stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. That’s so so wonderful that Girls Who Looked Under Rocks inspired you to get those books! I couldn’t ask for a better reader: thank you!!

  10. Thank you!

  11. Yes, starred review and seeing Amy made me a very happy person.

  12. Thank you sweet Lisa!

  13. Thanks for the squee, Jama!

  14. Thank you!

  15. Thanks, Melodye. Yes that line kind of warmed my heart!

  16. Thanks, Cindy. It was great to see you and meet Julia! I hope I run into her in maybe a quieter place someday!

  17. I’m so thrilled to hear your good news about Borrowed Names. Can’t wait for it to come out!

  18. Congrats!
    Great news about the stars, congratulations Jeannine! Nice to see you at the tweet-up.

  19. Love seeing all the great pictures and congratulations on the stars! I can’t wait to read Borrowed Names.

  20. Congratulations!!!! and sniffff….I’m whimpering this a m because a nasty little fast moving bug took over and forced me to stay home…of course I’m better now!!!

  21. Congratulations, Jeannine! That’s awesome.
    Hope you’re having a great time at ALA:>)

  22. Congratulations on the stars!! Looks like a great time at ALA!

  23. Congratulations on the stars, Jeannine! March is just around the corner, and yay–I’m looking forward to reading Borrowed Names. And how wonderful to see you and Amy and other ALA folks.

  24. SOOOO thrilled for you Jeannine!!!!!!!
    Keep those stars coming!
    xoxo

  25. Woohoo!

  26. Thank you, Kelly!

  27. Thanks, Susan!

  28. Mona, I am sorry you couldn’t make it, but glad you’re feeling better. Between weather and cold in January, there always is the risk of bad timing.

  29. Thank you! Glad “you” could be there in a book way.

  30. Thanks, Lorraine. It is very exciting to see the book make its way into the world, and I’m so eager to have friends read it.

  31. Thanks, Jo. You and Cindy made me feel like I was walking the red carpet on the way to the Holt booth. A great moment.

  32. Thanks for the cheer and extra exclamation marks! I hope this is a great year for our books!

  33. thanks…you would have seen me floating around with “our” friends!
    xo
    Mona

  34. Thank you, Laura!

  35. JEANNINE!!!!!! Holy cow! I only just saw this and Oh my Gosh! I am so over the moon that I can’t remember what words I am suppose to capitalize. I am so happy for you. Oh my gosh! That is just so great!!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!

  36. Thank you for all the wow-ness, Carrie! Having friends who understand is so much the icing on the cake.

  37. I didn’t know it was coming out so soon! Can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. And congratulations on the starred reviews. 🙂

  38. Oh, Becky, I look forward to having you read this! As I look forward to reading yours (very soon, I hope!)

  39. Sending much love, Jeannine, and so much happiness about the stars!!!
    So sorry to respond so late, but my week so far has included a brother visiting from afar, a toddler birthday party, and then a sick toddler (who is still very sniffly and not sleeping well). But it was heaven to see you again!

  40. I hope Sweetpea feels better soon, and that you both get some good rest this weekend. It was so so wonderful to move around with you in the Land of Books: you’re right, heaven.


Leave a Reply

Categories

