Posted by: jeannineatkins | December 17, 2009

Books by Sara Lewis Holmes, Kate Messner, Mary Pearson, and Coleen Murtagh Paratore

If you’re twelve years old, wonderful, and happened to swim across a pond with me this summer, talking about The Hunger Games and other books, here is what you might find from me this holiday season.

Operation Yes by Sara Lewis Holmes
I like reading Sara’s blog, Read! Write! Believe! http://saralewisholmes.blogspot.com/
I liked her first novel, Letters from Rapnuzel, and I like that someone can write a book with a princess-sort on the cover and little green army men on her next. I love how Sara plays with form, using verse, letters, and play scripts within a narrative. The often short sentences, paragraphs, and chapters within Operation Yes, along with the vivid language, keeps the energy flying. So do the fabulous Miss Loupe and her sixth grade students.

The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z by Kate Messner
Speaking of energy and cool teachers lets me transition to Kate Messner kmessner, who manages not only to write wonderful novels, but to brilliantly teach seventh grade, raise two wonderful children, and housekeep just the way it should be done, with piles of books abounding. I’m a big fan of Kate’s historical novels, but I also love the seventh grade runner, Gianna, and her best friend, Zig. The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z has leaf collecting, Robert Frost, and lots of good food: what’s not to love?

The Miles Between by Mary Pearson
I blogged about this novel by Mary marypearson this summer, when an advanced copy zoomed from mail boxes to post offices across the country. Since then it’s been racking up starred reviews for its great characters and the blend of realism and mystery.

Forget Me Not by Coleen Murtagh Paratore
This is the latest novel about Willa in the Wedding Planner’s Daughter series http://www.coleenparatore.com. I chose this sweet novel because of the dog and Cape Cod beach on the cover, both of which are passions for my friend. I love the design element of shells signifying scene changes and that Ralph Waldo Emerson (one of my passions, up there with dogs and the Cape, or, well, almost) quotations begin each chapter.

I hope C. enjoys these books and they lead her to others by these great authors!

Responses

  1. What goodness in this post! I’ll just swoon awhile, if you don’t mind :).

  2. Lucky C. — what a fine, fine batch of books you’ve picked!
    We are still very much appreciating the batch of books you gave to Sweetpea, BTW. I think her favorite is the one about the colors in Maria’s head, but they’ve all been great.

  3. There’s little I like better than you swooning. Glad you enjoyed, Jama!

  4. Thanks, Amy. It’s very satisfying, of course, to pass around books to good readers.

  5. Just ordered all four.
    Thank you!

  6. Thank you, Meg! I know they’ll be enjoyed – the gifts that keep on giving.
    Have a wonderful Christmas. I’m so glad you can be thankful for a healthy family … a healthy manuscript.


Leave a Reply

Categories

