Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 21, 2009

Today

Thanks to those writers who joined me wielding sharp revision tools on Monday. Yesterday I started to clear some of the wreckage and look for ways to fill in holes I left in the first few chapters, work I’ll continue with today. Please join me if you like – Vivian? I know you were sorry to miss Monday — whether with hatchets or brooms or simply quiet hands. I’m putting on more Irish Breakfast tea, and if we’re lucky, Lorraine has some banana bread leftover. I picked up a loaf of sourdough, and my friend Margaret gave me a jar of crabapple jelly her husband made. (Thanks, Jim!) So pretty I hate to break it open, but I will for you.

And I expect I’ll break from time to time to join my husband in some nostalgia and some forward-thinking as he just sold a business begun twenty-five years ago. We weren’t long married and I was in grad school, paying rent by teaching freshman comp, when Peter and a buddy wrote and drew a comic book called Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. It became way more successful than any of us dreamed – you know I was the one who worried if we’d ever lose the cartons in the dining room-turned-studio – and so much of the past years has been great. But without the pressure of running the business it became, Peter looks forward to new creative ventures. We plan to celebrate by seeing Where the Wild Things.

Today’s work is about patching in notes scribbled in plot-brainstorming and seeing how they fit. Yesterday I learned how to correct holes with knitting: tug, tug, tug, and weave. Tricky, but possible. Now it’s about putting in the right words. Pouring tea.

Responses

  1. Tea and sweets? Looks like I showed up at just the right time. 🙂
    I’m working on Chapter 10 & 11 revisions today. I hope I hope I hope they’ll be polished by the time I quit writing this evening.

  2. Melodye, I couldn’t make it to your table this weekend or much of yesterday, but I’m feeling the energy flying from it still. Thanks for getting us together (no matter how we dressed or what we brought along) and raring to go. I know you can get through Chapter 11. I’ll put on more hot water.

  3. I’m here…but since I can’t seem to wake up this gray morning, I’m bringing a huge pot of coffee! Oh, and left over banana bread, of course.
    Wow, I had no idea your husband created TMNT! Congratulations to him and best wishes for his new creations.
    Tug tug tug, weave. Sounds like a good skill to learn! Hope you’re having a productive morning.
    Okay, I’m back to chapter 14 and some deep back story thinking.
    Thanks Jeannine!

  4. So glad you can be here, Lorraine, and yay on chapter 14. The lucky chapter, I think. Thanks for the banana bread and even when I’m not drinking coffee, it’s almost as good to smell it.
    Thanks for all your good wishes. I’m off to a slowish start (maybe I will take a cup of that coffee….) but have high hopes for a productive afternoon.

  5. Forgot to mention…wow oh wow, your husband created TMNT? I bow to his creative genious. And am jealous of all the memorabilia you must have around your house. My sons ADORED those Turtles on the Half-shell. 🙂

  6. I’m glad your sons enjoyed the turtles. Our daughter’s Barbies and turtles co-mingled with some dinosaurs thrown in.
    How’s chapter ten coming along? I’m about to shut down the internet and focus more! See you later!

  7. OMG! YOU GUYS ARE THE TMNTs???!!!! I feel like I have to never wash my fingers again, from having typed back and forth with you. Wait till I tell my son and husband.
    You do know this means your husband has to come to gumbo night WITH YOU. 🙂
    Okay, stepping down off the fan wagon and getting calm.
    Can I bring some popcorn along today (Have to go to the grocery store soon)? And I’m doing a revise as I go with these online class lessons, one circle-around pass on everything before sending it off. I’m in with you all!

  8. Always glad to have you join us, Becky, and popcorn sounds great as here on the east coast it’s now afternoon.
    And okay to impress your son and husband, however you can, but please wash your typing hands. Peter and Kevin had a good idea that went the miles that rarely happen, but other than that, it’s everyday life around here.
    Good luck with the circle-around pass!

  9. This is a lovely and inspiring post and I think I’ll get to work. I refilled the pot for you all… just need to let it steep…

  10. So here’s the benefit of working with people across the time zones: caffeine throughout the day, yes?
    Go, Liz!

  11. Congratulations on this new path in your life!! How exciting . ..
    I’m about to jot down some plot ideas that gelled while I was power walking with my Cookie today. If I can get them right, I’ll be needing those sharp revision tools of yours!

  12. My son and grandson both loved TMNT, as did I and my husband. Tell him thanks, please.
    I get inspired by your posts. I am having trouble picking a project out of a number of ideas.
    I keep wanting to write not plan, but then I write a little and realize I do need to plan…
    Aaaargh!
    Your posts help.

  13. Thanks to all of you who said nice things about TMNT, but I would just like to emphasize that I am the CO-creator (with Kevin Eastman) of the Turtles, not the sole creator. — PL

  14. Good plot ideas are not easy to come by, so yay for power walking with a good lab. I hope you don’t need the sharp objects, that things line right up, but they’re here if you want them.
    And thank you for the sweet wishes.

  15. Thank you for all the lovely comments. We all need to both write and plan, so it’s great to hear posts when I’m trying to hash things out help somebody else, too. Good luck!

  16. So sorry I couldn’t be at the teatable today! I’m getting close to the point when I can put down my axe and scissors and start weaving, too, so thank you for the inspiring words.
    (And Cowabunga! on the TMNT connection. It’s so lovely when good things happen to good people. Wishing lots of happiness to Peter and to you as he starts down this new path.)

  17. I’m glad to hear you’re onward to weaving. The thing about axe and scissors is that once you’re ready to wield them, it doesn’t take that long. I’ve got more of that to do, but I’m starting at the beginning, cutting and weaving in 25 or so page clumps.
    And thank you for your good wishes to Peter and me. Stepping forward: scary but good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

