Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 18, 2009

Family, Friends, Books

Yesterday I saw my glowing niece Kelly at her baby shower, her organized sisters, my sisters-in-laws (good catch up on news), and one very cute four-year-old expert at ooohs and awws pulling tiny clothes and other merchandise of babyhood from gift bags. Kelly and Ben are expecting a boy in five weeks and I was told they have a name in mind but wisely aren’t about to reveal it. A friend used this strategy with her four children, as she said people feel free to tell you what’s wrong with the name of one in utereo, but if you’re holding the baby, may keep their opinions to themselves. (Family, I took photos I will try to figure out how to post on Facebook!)

Then I drove to Albany, where Debbi Michiko Florence d_michiko_f
was doing a book signing with Coleen Murtagh Paratore http://www.coleenparatore.com at The Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza http://www.bhny.com/ Great store! They draped the table with a lovely Asian themed red cloth which I thought Debbi should pack up, but she is too honest. Here she is signing while Coleen chats with Eric Luper eluper.

We made Debbi pose with her earlier book about China, (Japan sold out!) by the cool statue outside the store.

Debbi, Coleen, Nancy Castaldo naturespeak, Jen Groffjenlibrarian, and I enjoyed dinner afterwards: We got to hear a real-life love story, discuss libraries and reading what our daughters are reading, and cheer each other on about current projects. We ended in the too cold parking lot – Debbi, wrapped tight in her wool coat, couldn’t believe she once lived here – while looking forward to a time when we’d all meet again: maybe SCBWI conference in LA next summer? I’ve never been, but with a daughter in LA….

I brought home a few books and inspiration. So this afternoon, do I read, write, knit, convince my husband to see Wild Things with me, or all of the above?

Responses

  1. *Waving
    Hi Albany folk! I’m your neighbor down here in Dutchess County!!
    Glad the signing was a success and you had a great time w/your writer friends.
    🙂
    ~Della

  2. It was a fun day! I left full of inspiration too. In fact, I went home and went right on my computer. For today – all of the above. Have fun. See you soon!

  3. Great pics, and I love that statue.
    I’ve heard mixed things about the Wild Things, but I still want to see it. So I want you to go to the movie and tell me what you thought. 😉

  4. awesome! : )

  5. Thanks for the wave! Debbi had fun, but I think she is happy to be heading back to warmer climes!

  6. Inspiration and shoe boxes in your car! Now that is a successful day!
    Look forward to Thursday. We always seem to get some good writing done at Esselon!

  7. Thanks, Jenny: it would be so cool if you could do a signing at that store, or another one in New England. Maybe when winter isn’t upon us.
    I’m taking your nudge re the movies. It’s cold. It’s raining. It’s time for some wild things and popcorn…

  8. It would only have been more awesome if you showed up. But it looks like you’re making brilliant use of your time. Creativity in every word and picture. Yay!

  9. Jeannine,
    Thank you SO SO SO much for driving all the way to Albany to come to the signing! It was fabulous to see you (and look for your car). 🙂 I hope our paths cross again – yes, perhaps at SCBWI National in LA! And I love being here – but yes, I do prefer warmer temps! hehe It’s worth braving the frigid temps to see you all though!
    xoxo

  10. Oh, how exciting! Wish I could have been there. Thanks for sharing the pics and your good times.

  11. it was great to see you!!
    p.s. later Debbi and I lost my car. really. twice!

  12. Nan, great to see you! 🙂

  13. It’s not every day you’re in the Northeast, so well worth the drive to see you! Have a safe flight tomorrow. And I’ll be looking forward to hearing how things go with your new ms. Glad your time with Jen was so productive! xo

  14. Thanks, Jama, and so glad you’re “home.” Wish you could have been there, too, though you might have found it as cold as Debbi did. Well, as we all did, but living here we have to suck it up. I wish I could have been at the blogger’s conference: thank you for those pictures. That Cornelius does get around!

  15. Great to see you, too, Jen! Thank you so much for the leaf story: those mean a lot.
    And, really, you lost your car? Just to make me feel better? When I’m around home, I have my favorite spots in the hinterlands of lots where it’s usually pretty easy to find. Don’t have to rethink it every time, you know? Sad, but what can you do?
    I’m sure you and Debbi had a lot of laughs on the car search!

  16. Thanks for sharing that wonderful day! And I vote for “all of the above.”

  17. Definitely all of the above! What a wonderful day. I love Debbi’s books.

  18. There are no wrong answers! So what DID you do?

  19. It’s so so nice to see you here, Amy, with your always so kind words. Ended up staying home as my husband wasn’t feeling too well, but should see Wild Things before too long.

  20. It was a wonderful day. Now we just have to get you here for an east coast tour!

  21. Joyce, what a perfect answer. Stayed home to read write knit. But hope to get out for Wild Things this late: my husband has promised me that date and I’m not going to forget it!

  22. That is so one of my goals! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

