Posted by: jeannineatkins | September 16, 2009

Click. Clack. Click.

Hear that? Sounding sort of like puzzle pieces falling into a pattern, or dominoes dropping into line, some sentences are landing in proper paragraphs and scenes finding their places into chapters. I’ve still got a long way to go, but the pesky first half now looks like more than a mass of pieces with edges that fit nowhere. And as they fall, I’m thinking of new conversations and scenes they can stir up.

I’m happy, though I’ve been blog-neglecting. I’ve got a day of writing scheduled where I hope to touch Chapter 13. Tomorrow Jo Knowles and some friends will meet again for good coffee and inspiration at Esselon Café. Join us in person or spirit at noon! The tables are big. Other than that, I’m not venturing far and meaning to get my pleasure from seeing words fall into place – click, clack, click – and a page, then another, and another, start to look like a pile.

Responses

  1. So glad the click clack click refers to writing. For a moment there, I thought you had taken to parading around in stilettos. 😀 Good luck with Chapter 13!

  2. I wish I could come! I wish I could meet all these interesting and talented LJ writers.
    But I think if I try really carefully, I can hear your clicks and clacks.
    Unless it’s my kid waking up from her nap upstairs. 🙂

  3. Oh stilettos. I eye even the fat half-inch heels wondering if I dare, and decide: no. Must leave cuteness for others. Thanks for the good luck wishes, Jama!

  4. Yay for a kid who naps!
    Hope you find a good way back into your ms-house. Forget the big picture. All you need is one little crack in a door or window. Sending you a small plank to use as wedge. And you’re .. in!

  5. I love the imagery you feel for how it starts to come together. Not to mention it gives me hope for my edgeless pieces! Have a great writing session.

  6. Oh those edgeless pieces. They’ve been around here for, what, two years? They can be fun in themselves, setting up all those scenes, with all their murky hope, so … enjoy that part while you can.
    Then one day I’ll be hearing it from Calif: click. clack. click.
    Thanks for the good wishes — back to you!

  7. Ooh, touching chapter 13! I’ve been wondering how things have been going for you, and it sounds like you’ve been working hard. I’m so glad you get to meet up with Jo and friends–it’s good to be able to share that writerly energy.
    I’m hoping to get back to my chapter 12 soon, and you always inspire me. Getting D. started with his homeschooling has taken lots of time, but next week should settle into more of a routine.

  8. So glad things are clicking! And that they’re even conjuring up new puzzle pieces for you.
    As for me, I wish I could va-roooooom my way to your cafe tomorrow. I’ll be with you in spirit, though.

  9. Yes it’s been happening slow but steady and with a lot of just sitting — so meeting writer friends feels like a huge treat in the world — and we all get a writing boost, too.
    Changing routines always takes time and energy. That will be great if you can get back to chapter twelve next week. I’ll be cheering you on!

  10. Yes, it’s nice when they click but still allow surprises.
    That would be so so so wonderful if you could ever get out here. Jo teaches on Thursdays, so we will be back there again! And we’ll enjoy your spirit meanwhile ( a few spirits will be joining you!)
    Yesterday I had lunch with one of my daughters childhood friends before she heads off for Cambridge Univ. for her junior year. She’s excited, though she says they give exams not along the way, but huge ones at the end of the year. She’ll do great though. She decided to go partly after MIT axed the ski team (budget cuts!) where she was supposed to be captain. She’s not so sure about the indoor ski practices at Cambridge, but the team tours Europe, so that will be exciting!

  11. Wish I could be there in person.
    And wasn’t that supposed to be Click. Clack. Moo?

  12. It *would* be wonderful! I’ll talk to David and see what I can do. With his backup at home (and my back permitting), I just might be able to make that work some Thursday.
    And how exciting to spend a junior year at Cambridge! One of my dearest friends used to live there. Not only is it a beautiful, beautiful place, but it has a fantastic old-fashioned bakery that makes the best Chelsea buns ever.

  13. When I was hearing this, the cows weren’t around. But that charming picture book does leave its echo.
    Let us know when you do your college searching around Amherst!

  14. How lovely to hear things are falling into place. I hope you enjoyed your gathering with friends.


Leave a Reply

Categories

