Posted by: jeannineatkins | August 24, 2009

Summer Movie Edition

Visiting my daughter means seeing about as many movies in a week as I ordinarily see in a year. And where I live, you don’t check the bathrooms for empty stalls and see a row of gladiator sandals, but more orthopedic-looking footwear, like mine. Em and her roommate Colleen like seeing the trailers, though they wonder when there will be another longer one for New Moon. Not that they don’t love seeing Jacob turn into a wolf and all, but they’d like a bit more. We also got to see the trailer for Where the Wild Things Are, which I enjoyed, but it reminded Colleen of having to dress up as a Wild Thing for Story time at the bookstore where she works. Not one of her favorite moments.

Of course they’d seen Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince at midnight in July, but I’d waited to see it with them, and even after a month, the audience was enthusiastic. I enjoyed it, more than Inglourious Basterds, whose blend of the absurd and violent didn’t work for me. Lots of eye closing, ducking, and my daughter swinging her arm in front of my eyes.

The three of us also saw Julie and Julia, which I loved. Meryl Streep and everybody else were great, not to mention good shots of Paris and various kinds of chocolate. I loved the publishing drama –the waiting, the not hearing, the rejections, the triumph. When I started to write this, I was thinking the girls liked the romance, while I liked the writing references; but now I see how much they blended, both in the movie and my life. We weren’t a bubble bath valentine couple, but my husband was and is supportive of my work-passion wherever, if anywhere, it went. Priceless. I remember shortly after we met how it was being able to write with him in the room that made me think this could last forever. Like Julia Child’s husband, he knows what it means to carry in a piece of mail with a publisher’s address in the left corner.

(500) Days of Summer had a great blend of love and irony, wonderful on the details of a relationship and how memory sharpens, blurs, and does somersaults. Things move backwards and forward and sideways instead of in the usual arc, which was fun.

Post Grad is about an English major who didn’t land her dream job in publishing ten minutes after getting her B.A. Um, a plot I’m familiar with. Sadly none of the strands really wound together, holes abounded, and a lot of the humor was stale. If you crave romance and books, see Julie and Julia again.

Responses

  1. Julie and Julia!
    Hey Jeannine! I so agree about Julie and Julia – loved it. Meryl always astounds me. It was good to hear a writer’s perspective on the publishing side – I loved that part also but you’ve given it yet another facet.
    And doesn’t it just make you want to time travel to Paris in the 50’s!

  2. Maybe some movies will help me get acclimated…
    I’m glad you’re getting some time to hang out with your daughter.

  3. You will get acclimated! Movies sound more fun than the catching up with laundry acclimation.
    Apparently I missed some very muggy days in Mass. Hoping for porch breezes to wave me back in. Since my daughter has been working, I’ve been writing through the days then hanging with her and her roommate at night. A lovely rhythm I’ll be sorry to see end, though glad to see husband and dogs and the bees.

  4. Re: Julie and Julia!
    Loved the looks of things, though all a bit too red-meaty for my taste. But Eiffel tower and the artichokes and hollandaise: yes!

  5. Enjoyed the movie prviews. I can’t wait to see J & J.
    And I know I’ll love the writing connections there. Hope writing is going well.
    Back to teaching soon?

  6. Julie & Julia it is, then. Thanks for the recommendation.

  7. Jeannine,
    Like you, I loved the mature romance in Julie and Julia… the portrait of Julia Child’s marriage, and the supportiveness of her steadfast spouse! Enough to make any writer’s heart skip a beat. And the moment she gets the rejection letter about the cookbook? Yes, I teared up a bit!!
    Glad you’re having so much fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

