Posted by: jeannineatkins | August 12, 2009

Writing on Walls

This morning I stopped in the coop to buy a small stack of tea boxes with a mint theme and a cup of coffee. I settled in the café area with my revision of Chapter 5 (ouch) and was observed by a mom, also with coffee, and a girl, about three, who was tearing into a bagel. I became a cautionary tale as the mom pointed out how I wrote on paper.

I looked up, and she explained that Sasha prefers writing on tables and walls.

“So are your pens kept hidden?” I asked.

“No. They really are better for writing. Sasha can’t press as hard as you need to with a crayon, and she doesn’t see me with crayons, so they don’t hold much interest.”

“So,” I asked Sasha, “Do you like writing or drawing more?”

We discussed the pros and cons, and she decided singing was best. So her mom asked her to sing. She asked for a mike. Her mom got a plastic spoon which the girl waved with one hand and the by now severely mangled bagel with the other. Because of the request for a mike, I’d readied myself for a performance. But one line and the song was over. I was reminded again of the power of brevity as I went back to model writing on PAPER. And marveled at the patience of parents of the very young.

Responses

  1. Sweet story. That reminds me how writer’s always find a story or a lesson in everything and everyone around them.
    I’m not wrting on paper!
    Mona
    going on vacation soon and have paper already beside the suitcase!

  2. We are lucky enough to have a fan of paper here. But patience still comes in handy!

  3. My S. had a fondness for fat purple markers…which she enthusiastically used anywhere but on paper. :-O
    Hope all is going well with the revisions, whichever direction they take you.

  4. Have a great vacation, Mona! I love it when paper gets beside the suitcase first! (then the thrill of deciding what books to bring!)

  5. A fan of paper sounds excellent. There at least used to be a local company that would give away the ends of big rolls of paper — very big and very handy. But I imagined my grown daughter was there with her elbow at the ready: don’t give advice to strangers — and I just smiled. Not my tables!

  6. Did S read Harold’s Purple Crayon?
    Revisions going well if slowly. Had to pass on your cheerful words about yay for decisions that make you go backward to go forward though I admit with less enthusiasm than I felt last week. But I’m crawling back to chapter 11.

  7. Oh my cute story but I so don’t miss those days. 🙂 I LOVE paper.


Leave a Reply

Categories

