Posted by: jeannineatkins | August 3, 2009

What We See in Fields

The other morning when Mary and I walked our dogs through the wet woods, she brought up a report scientists did which linked minds and perception, showing how some may see just a field, while others, trained to seek milkweed or other plants beloved of butterflies, may focus on those plants now blooming. I thought of this after reading a few recent reports of friends finding their way through particularly thorny sections of revisions. How we tend then to see the weeds, brambles, slugs and possible ticks lurking. It’s, of course, necessary to see these so we can pitch what doesn’t belong, but sometimes doing this cleanup, I’ve felt: what’s left?

And answered myself: not much.

Then it’s time to stalk through the fields again. Watch for bees and butterflies that might be lighting on the center of a flower, tasting delicious pollen.

Responses

  1. As soon as I saw your first photo, I thought “Milkweed!”
    I love this post. Glad you’re moving ahead and finding/creating more beauty in your words.

  2. I love this–remembering to do a read-through for the good parts! The parts that add to the story. 🙂

  3. What a lovely post, and how true! It’s amazing how there’s always something we can find if we open up to all possibilities. I hope you’re finding blooming flowers in your chapters.

  4. Moving ahead by moving backwards.
    Yay for you for seeing the hidden milkweed! Good luck rearranging your words.

  5. Thanks, Becky. I’m so excited about your trip! Have fun!!!

  6. Yes, once in a while something blooms, and I’m trying to focus on that and not the backwards movement!

  7. Such a good reminder! In my own work, I’m often so busy swatting flies and tossing weeds that I forget to stop and look at what’s beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

