Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 10, 2009

Home and Homes Away from Home

While my daughter went to her art history course – American, not her favorite land for art, covering, she said, “from “when Columbus sailed the ocean blue to World War II,” I did some writing. And when she went to work yesterday, she sent me to her hairdresser, who’s sending me home a bit more chic. We’ll see if my husband notices. Nobody’s placing bets, but of course that’s one of the things I love about him. The hairdresser, who grew up in LA, asked about where I lived and what commutes were like. It takes about twenty minutes to get to most places, but it’s length, not traffic, I told her. She told me of once driving in the hills, where she just stopped the car because no one was ahead of her or behind her. “I was afraid I’d crash into nothing. It was the saddest moment of my life.”

I met Em for lunch, where I tipped over my miso soup and she didn’t even sigh. Then I walked home, passing by about thirty opportunities to get my nails done; glad my sandals weren’t as pointy toed and gilded as those of some people I passed. I stopped at Whole Foods for supper supplies: chicken, asparagus, and salad, with enough chicken for Em to freeze.

Now I bid my sad good-bye and am at the airport writing this, so will post after a hopefully happy landing. I’m waiting near a mom with two kids, and the little girl, with doll’s head sticking out of her carry-on, is amusing herself (and me) with a pack of M & M’s: “Ladies and Gentlemen! How many red ones do you think I can put in my mouth at once?”

I’ll enjoy the quiet at home, but miss the sun and all the people and seeing what my daughter sees. I’ll miss eating cereal from a zebra-print bowl in the morning. I’ll miss the pool where I wrote, swam, and heard a young woman watching three three-year-olds say, “Who wants glitter?” (Don’t worry, I didn’t run over.) I’ll miss the friendly folks at Coffee Bean and will have to find a place to order coffee and when they ask for my name, give them my daughter’s. Not just cause it’s easier to spell, but for the brief pleasure of hearing “Emily!” called.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a good trip all around. Love the M & Ms story!

  2. Goodbyes are hard; memories are invaluable.

  3. Aw, what great moments and memories! Safe landing!

  4. Every time you write these lovely mom-daughter posts, it puts me with my daughter. It’s hard to say goodbye, but what a special closeness you two have. Thanks for letting us be flies on the wall. 🙂

  5. Just for the record — I did notice the new hairstyle. And it is very nice. — PL


Leave a Reply

Categories

