Posted by: jeannineatkins | June 3, 2009

Two Views

My bloggy pep talks seem to be working on me. I’ve spent much of the past few days sticking to my project at hand. Fixing, tidying, and getting a bit of pleasure in the neat corners. Seeing a few fresh pages stack up – okay, stack may be a generous term – and feeling like this work will turn into something that’s maybe not all the gorgeousness I can envision, but something that at least someone can read.

And yesterday I took a break to go with my friend Sue for a picnic lunch with this view of Shelburne Falls at High Ledges Sanctuary.

And, looking in the shade, we found some lady slippers.

Responses

  1. “okay, stack may be a generous term”
    🙂
    What a beautiful place for a walk!

  2. Turns out you and Sue were playing “Hunt the Slipper” in the woods, huh?

  3. Lovely view! I’ve never seen lady slippers. Nice to hear you’re happy with your work progress :).

  4. Beautiful!

  5. Oh wow! I love the high ledges! Are there a lot of lady slippers still out there?

  6. You found them after all! I’m so glad. 🙂

  7. um, yes?

  8. Lady slippers are very fussy re soil, thus rare, and can’t be replanted. which of course makes them extra cool!

  9. Yesterday I think we caught some of the last lady slippers, but I expect there will be some at least a few more days as it’s so cool. We saw some of the yellow ones just gone by: shriveling up, but.. there.

  10. Yes! Yay! Many had gone by, but there were plenty to make us happy.

  11. That’s it, isn’t it. One of those blocks. Worrying about not getting the beauty we see in our minds onto the page. I like this, though–something soneone can read. 🙂

  12. I think we can call anything over six pages a stack, yes?
    Good luck with yours!

  13. Yes. It may be good to imagine our masterpieces, with their blurry edges, but when it comes down to it, we’ve got to get there sentence by sentence. And they really each should have a subject and verb.
    But of course this after the glorious initial mess-making (I’m still on my grass is greener theme, though I know each stage has its pleasures and pitfalls! — so enjoy flinging words around!

  14. Glad to hear you getting into your groove a bit more. It will come, much like those lovely flowers that take time underground doing things the rest of us can’t see before they give us those beautiful flowers.

  15. Susan, you’re so right. Being in the dirt, not seeing much ahead, has its uses — even if not always fun. Thanks for the pretty reminder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

