Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 16, 2009

Salamanders, Poetry, Friends, and a Daughter

Thanks for those who asked about salamander migration, which we’ll hear more about next Wednesday at S.White Dickinson Library from Scott Jackson, who studied the way salamanders left vernal pools en masse to breed on a spring night. For a while, bucket brigades helped them cross roads in their path, but he helped build tunnels to make their route safe. You can read more here.

http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/environment/wildlifecrossings/salamand.htm

In other news, it was a busy week with friends and relatives gathering for Easter. I’m polishing the workshop on writing poetry drawing from the past which I’ll be giving at the NESCBWI workshop on April 26. I did a blog interview with writer Linda Cotta Brennan about my book, Anne Hutchinson’s Way, which she’ll post tomorrow, April 16. http://lcbrennan.blogspot.com/

But my favorite part of the week was when driving with my daughter to see our friend Pat in the hospital, Emily reached over, lifted a strand of my hair, let it drop. Then we looked at each other.

Responses

  1. I’m thinking of you all, Jeannine.
    oxoxo

  2. I know you are, Jo. And that means a lot. A real lot.
    oxoxo

  3. You have a wonderful daughter–and a wonderful relationship with her. So happy for you two.
    I want to come to the NESCBWI. Times like this I wish I were Samantha in Bewitched. 🙂

  4. Thanks, Becky — I do miss that girl.
    All my California sweethearts! If only you could twitch your noses and pop by!

  5. “But my favorite part of the week was when driving with my daughter to see our friend Pat in the hospital, Emily reached over, lifted a strand of my hair, let it drop. Then we looked at each other.”
    I read this sentence a couple times and then I started giggling because knowing both of you I can see it in my head. 😛

  6. What a lovely moment. You’re in my thoughts, Jeannine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

