Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 15, 2009

Scott Jackson: A Treasure of Whately

When I agreed to help start a Friends organization for our wonderful town library five years ago, I agreed to be v.p. which didn’t sound too hard. No dethronings, no scandals, well not many, but after two presidents came and went, I ended up as reluctant president. Fortunately our small board is great. This spring we’re doing a free series called Treasures of Whately, with talks and a walk on nature and history.

This is the time of year when if you’re driving a back road at night around here, you might see stick-like things on the road, and folks in bright jackets waving you to stop for salamanders crossing. A perfect time for a talk on Amphibians of Massachusetts,this coming Wednesday April 22, 7:00 p.m.

As spring settles in for good and the vernal pools and other wetlands are full of water, there is no better time observe frogs and salamanders. This talk will focus on the emergence of vernal pool breeding amphibians such as wood frogs, Jefferson and spotted salamanders. You will learn how to find pond breeders like the bullfrog, green and pickerel frogs, and red-spotted newt and the three species of salamanders that prefer stream environments.

Scott Jackson is a wildlife biologist who serves as Program Director for the Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation program at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Please come if you can! It’s free with refreshments, and I’m thinking of lemon bread or poppyseed cake, NOT salamander-shaped cookies. They’d be so pretty in my mind, but I learned my lesson at Easter when two or three hours of my life shot by in my every few years or so attempt at cut-out cookies. My very kind niece Maggie — and I mean she is seriously kind — said they really weren’t so bad, picked up one, and asked if it were an angel. Well, a dragonfly. At least she saw wings.

Responses

  1. If you took the wings off the dragonflies, they’d look a lot like salamanders! Do they really cross the roads? Out here, they just hang aruond in creeks.
    I’d come for lemon bread OR poppy seeds, if I could. 🙂

  2. I’m still hoping we Burnses can make it …
    Loree

  3. Sounds great! I wish I could be there.

  4. Salamander crossings?! I love salamanders. I wish I could join you, it sounds very cool.

  5. Hi, Becky, yes, break off those wings. As my daughter pointed out, it was more of a frosting problem than shape. I was going for something slick, instead got something, mmm, paste-like. Groat.
    So I posted more on salamanders cause of your question!

  6. That would be SO awesome. But I know you have a busy week.

  7. Thanks for wishing, Susan!

  8. Wish you could come, too. I’ll see if I can get some cool information and pictures to post!

  9. Salamander photo op!


Leave a Reply

Categories

