Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 3, 2009

London!

I’m not long back from meeting my daughter and her roommate in London for four days. It was Emily’s first time in England and Colleen’s first trip to Europe. Somehow we didn’t fit in tea and scones –meals seemed to be more about Indian food or pizza — but we managed a lot and I hope to post a few more pictures after I catch up with life in Massachusetts. I spent the day before the trip in a rush of laundry, packing, trading dollars for pounds, returning library books and paying bills (pre-flight rituals), teaching a class and then writing email responses to the students’ reports. Then I talked with my daughter who was flying directly from LA. How are things going? She told me: We’ve been watching the Tudors all day.

Well worth it. I got filled in on wives and mistresses and scandals. Here’s Emily reading to us about which queens were beheaded in this yard at the Tower of London.

Mother and daughter at the Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens.

And here are a few photos Emily sent me of the special guest who joined us in Colleen’s purse. If you’re a Twilight fan, you may recognize the pale handsome face. Edward at Buckingham Palace, just a few days before world leaders met and then began debating whether the First Lady was too huggy with the Queen.

Our vampire friend making a quick call back home to Forks:

He was quiet companion anyway. If you’re a smidge as crazy about all things Twilight as Emily and Colleen are, here’s a link to their blog.
http://viewfromavampire.blogspot.com/ I’ll write more about that when things settle down here. I took in a new batch of papers to correct yesterday and the peepers at the pond started their sweet noise while I was gone. I need to listen, and rake old leaves off the crocuses that finally popped out. And catch up on reading last week’s blogs!

Responses

  1. Looks like it was a great trip – can’t wait to hear more. (I’ll bet you’re exhausted!)

  2. Thanks for sharing pics of your fabulous trip, vampire companion included!
    It takes a while to get both feet on the same continent, doesn’t it? Hope you’re allowing yourself time to adjust.

  3. Welcome home!
    Jeannine,
    Sounds like you had an exciting trip!
    Welcome back to the states! I’ll probably get up for a visit on Easter….hope to catch up and see more pics and here cool tales!
    Blart!

  4. Oh, do post more pics. I love London, even if I didn’t have a vampire along when I went.
    I read that the queen hugged Michelle first!

  5. Sounds like the trip of a lifetime!

  6. Love the pictures. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your trip.

  7. Yes, seemed to plough through yesterday, then feeling it today. Where’s that strong cup of tea?

  8. Both feet on the same continent? Maybe that’s what I’m feeling — straddling. Thanks for giving me some time!

  9. Ah, I’m dreaming of a mother-daughter London trip too! I’m so glad you were able to meet up there (and with Edward as well!)
    Good for the first lady for being warm and chummy–I bet the queen was charmed.
    Can’t wait for more pics and news (after you get some sleep and settle in.)

  10. Re: Welcome home!
    Hope to see you soon!

  11. Yes, think the photos replayed show the queen making that move, un-regalish at last.

  12. Definitely of my lifetime! The girls would love to run into a prince or two. Or at least go when Leo is out of maintenance at Madame Tussaud’s!

  13. Thanks, Susan!

  14. Yes, it was just a little sad to say goodbye outside the airport! But all worth it.
    I enjoyed reading the British papers for a few days; I do think Mrs. Obama is charming socks off all about.
    Thanks for the welcome back.

  15. I don’t know where to start–Peepers?! London?!
    Oh, you are so lucky, on both counts!

  16. Yes, away and home: both good.
    You surely will be hearing peepers soon!
    Your retreat sounded great. Hope to see you at NESCBWI!

  17. That’s funny how Edward came along for the ride. His pale complexion probably didn’t get much of a boost in London, though. 🙂

  18. Being from LA, the girls were wanting rain and fog, and I suppose they thought Edward would feel at home… It’s amazing how much an action figure can keep one amused! On the way out the plane wasn’t full and they contemplated buckling him into his own seat, but decided, no.


Leave a Reply

Categories

