Posted by: jeannineatkins | March 17, 2009

New England SCBWI Conference

Registration is up for this great conference of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators at http://www.nescbwi.org/2009/01/2009-new-england-scbwi-confere.php. It will be held in Nashua, NH April 24 to 26. For more information about the conference as a whole, if you don’t find your answers on the website, you’re welcome to ask organizer Anna Boll ajboll also at annajboll@gmail.com. Among presenters, you’ll recognize other cool names from LJ, including Cindy Lord cynthialord giving a bound-to-be-inspiring keynote speech.

I’ve been preparing for a two hour workshop I’m giving that Sunday called: Building Poems with Images, Narrative, and a Bit of History. You can read more about this workshop and others on the website using the link above. It’s been fun trying to articulate what worked for me writing my first poetry collection due out next year from Holt called, at least at the moment, Borrowed Names: Poems of Laura Ingalls Wilder, Madam Walker, and Marie Curie. How did I choose and find patterns for images, and patch moments with narrative? What are some ways to let a small common object move into metaphor? How can I nudge others to make these strategies their own? I know some excellent poets have signed up, but I hope everyone will be as relaxed as we are around here and no one with any experience looking for the best possible words will be intimidated to write some verse. I know I’ll see familiar faces in the hallways and around, and really hope to see some in the Sunday workshop, ten to noon. I’ll do my very best to make sure you leave with a new poem or two you love.

Responses

  1. It sounds like a wonderful workshop. I’m sure you’ll put them all at ease. 🙂

  2. a bound-to-be-inspiring keynote speech…..
    Laura Jacques and I were planning to attend that one day but it’s rather pricey… I’m not sure I’ll be working a “full-week” schedule come May, so, I suspect I’ll pass… too bad…like you said: “a bound-to-be-inspiring keynote speech.”
    😦
    Maybe somebody will put it on YouTube!
    🙂

  3. Thanks, Becky. I do think it will be a lot of fun!

  4. Re: a bound-to-be-inspiring keynote speech…..
    Yes, too bad. At least we are lucky to get inspired almost every day through Cindy’s blog!

  5. get inspired almost every day through Cindy’s blog!
    You got that right!!!
    😉

  6. I’m very much looking forward to it!

  7. Re: a bound-to-be-inspiring keynote speech…..
    Filming’s not usually allowed for copyright reasons.

  8. Yay! Thanks. Me, too!

  9. If no one shows up to my workshop in the same timeslot, which, given the competition, is a very real possibility, I may surprise EVERYONE (including me!) and take your poetry workshop, Jeannine.
    I’m looking forward to seeing you in Nashua.

  10. Filming’s not usually allowed….
    Shirley, I jest…. 🙂

  11. Loree, people will come! But I know what you mean, it’s unnerving when so many options are offered, including ones we’d love to go to. I look forward to seeing you!
    Does your library get Booklinks? There’s an interesting interview with Joyce Sidman this month about some of the ways science inspires her poetry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

