Posted by: jeannineatkins | January 14, 2009

Back to Work

Thanks for all the welcome home messages! They warm a blogger’s heart. It’s funny that’s what I’ve become. I mean my husband picked us up, he saw me and talked to me and helped me download pictures, but from across the breakfast table he asked, “When are you going to blog about Rome?” I guess it adds another angle.

I’m still doing some laundry, collecting stray things to send on to my daughter, but also back to revisions. The dogs and I keep an eye on the birds. Here’s a picture my husband took of some chickadees in flight.

Responses

  1. You Blog, therefore, You ARE!
    🙂
    Great that you do…I may never get to Rome myself.
    And yes, this photo is a similar sight out my window!

  2. I am revising with you.
    I think we need to get a bird feeder. I’ve always been afraid to have one, as it seems like such a big responsibility! But it would be so nice to have visitors. 🙂
    xo

  3. Such a beautiful photo! Welcome home 🙂

  4. That’s a gorgeous photo. I never get anything moving, except when I don’t want to! 🙂

  5. Welcome home! Looks like you had a fabulous trip…and I’m dreaming of London too. 🙂

  6. Wow – you can literally count the feathers on that chickadee on the right. Nice photo, hubby!

  7. Re: You Blog, therefore, You ARE!
    Birds, coliseums, arty ceilings, they all have their different kinds of beauty.
    And about your heading — yikes, but yes!

  8. The revisions that never end. No, don’t say that, J! Yours will end, anyway.
    The bird feeders really aren’t a big responsibility. I think ours might have been a bit neglected when I was gone, and the birds came back. It’s more for us than the birds. I like having something to stare AT when I’m staring. Probably good for the eyes, to move from the screen, though you have those goofy cats to watch! (who would love bird watching, too…)

  9. Thanks, Cindy!

  10. Yeah, he’s got some sort of special camera which of course I don’t understand. I’ve got a few good photos from my trip, lots of disasters it’s nice to be able to delete!

  11. Thank you, Lorraine! Yes my daughter said we should do London while there’s still theater. I kind of laughed but she did not. I’m the starry eyed children’s book writer, she’s more of a realist.

  12. Thanks on hubby’s behalf, Kelly. He can fix computers, too, and make me laugh! A keeper!

  13. The camera does most of the work…
    For anyone who is interested, I used a Casio Exilim Pro EX-F1 digital camera to get that shot. It has a very fun feature allowing for sixty frames per second shooting in full resolution, and even higher rates (I think up to 1000 fps) in lower resolutions. What I am discovering (I’ve only been playing around with these settings for the last month or so) is that it takes patience and timing to get nifty shots of birds in action. But I think I would never have been able to get a shot like that without the high-speed “burst” mode of this camera. — “Hubby”

  14. Hey…I just got moved to the Odyssey Bookshop for the Kids Heart Authors event on V day. Isn’t that your spot?

  15. Oh, that’s great news for me — unless I hear I got moved! Too bad you won’t go back to your old stomping grounds. I would love to meet you!

  16. can’t wait to hang out in Mass!
    Yay! Now they have a posse of five authors at the Odyssey. We are going to rock the bookstore!

  17. Re: can’t wait to hang out in Mass!
    Oh, it looks like they moved everyone from World’s Eye to Odyssey. That will be fun! Get ready for snow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

