Posted by: jeannineatkins | December 16, 2008

Five Smiles

Okay, classes just over, grades to be figured out, decorations to be hauled from boxes, cookies to be baked, cards to be written as legibly as I can manage, which won’t be much. (My in-laws used to ask my daughter to translate, though she’d say: how should I know?) I’m low on blogging inspiration, but I’ll join this meme’s challenge to write about the last five things that made me smile. Thanks for tagging me Jojbknowles!

1. There are some librarians I always chat and often laugh with, but today I smiled when one shy one, told me “If I don’t see you before, have a happy holiday.” It doesn’t sound like much when I recount it here. But I felt the words didn’t come easily to her, and it made me happy.

2. Okay, there’s this watch-them-grow thing when kids learn to drive, and another going away to college. Then today I saw a dad of a sophomore in college, born the same day as my daughter. The dad told me his son put on his Christmas list the collected letters of Elizabeth Bishop and Robert Lowell. But that’s on MY Christmas list!

3. While cutting my hair cut this morning, Scott chatted about how he’s switched to giving nephews and nieces gift certificates “after one told me: Uncle Scott! I haven’t liked care bears in ten years!”

4. Making a new friend on LJ historymaven who just started blogging. Go say hello! A quote from Oscar Wilde on her user page made me smile, too: The one duty we owe to history is to rewrite it.

5. When people asked when my daughter was coming home, it was great to switch from a date to name a day of the week. Then today I got to say, The day after tomorrow!

I like how beckylevine ended her meme, tagging anyone who’s smiled in the past 24 hours. Becky, I hope you don’t mind if I borrow that?! I really should get to those cards, but I’m actually on my way to meeting in the town hall that may give me even more to smile about. The historic commission wants input from townspeople about what we love about our town. I’m going mostly because our Friends of the Library are trying to pull together a program about some of the natural places we value. We hope for ideas and if we’re lucky a few volunteers to help with the program. But there will be more smiling involved, too, I’m sure.

Responses

  1. I’ve been a little low on blogging ideas, too, so this was fun. Maybe it’s just holiday craziness? Or–in your case–waiting for your daughter to walk in the door? 🙂
    And borrow away!

  2. Thank you for the shout-out and the smiles! You’ve made me smile this week, too. And how wonderful to think that your daughter is now coming home *tomorrow*!


Leave a Reply

Categories

