Posted by: jeannineatkins | October 18, 2008

Children’s Books and the Blue Heron Restaurant

Meeting with other authors to brainstorm about marketing yesterday, and eat lunch, I articulated my position: yes, absolutely, I want to sell books, but, with marketing outcomes unknown, whatever I do should be fun. I started blogging because many suggested it was a good way to sell books. I’m obviously, I hope, having fun here, maybe so much that I lost sight of the marketing thing. That’s okay, but I realized I should at least sometimes note coming events. A thought that boomeranged back to me when I gave this advice to someone else at the table.

There’s a great event next month at the Blue Heron http://www.blueherondining.com/events.htm one of the best restaurants in western Massachusetts. In partnership with the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art http://www.picturebookart.org/ I’ll join authors and illustrators David Costello http://www.davidhydecostello.com/, Leslea Newman http://www.lesleakids.com/, and Erica Verrillo http://ericaverrillo.com/ to read from and talk about a book. Children and caregivers are invited to listen and eat a splendid lunch. We’re not talking peanut butter and jelly. If you follow the link above you can read the menu for the day, a buffet that includes french fries not just with ketchup, but if you prefer, truffle mayonnaise. There’s pink lemonade and an ice cream sundae station. That and getting read to. What more could you want of a Saturday afternoon in November?

Come if you can. The four of us had fun last year, and David even did a sketch of my yellow lab, Daphne, who is no longer with us: his watercolor is framed and on my fridge (okay, it’s a little plastic frame, but where I see it every day). And if you cross the continent or drive far, far north, I’ll totally put you up! Jama, you know you want to!

Ah, food and books. Yesterday I stopped for coffee and found one of my former children’s lit students serving. He told me he’s in a nonfiction writing class that I’m scheduled to talk to in a few weeks. Great! And then he asked if I might bring scones…. (I feel I must bring “a little something,” with honey, for discussing Winnie-the-Pooh; glad he remembers something!)

Responses

  1. What a wonderful event–I’d never have thought about doing something like this in a restaurant. And I love your Mary Anning book. (I’d forgotten the title–now I know why my son and I picked it up in the first place; it has the word “dragon” in it!)
    Have a mini Grilled Cheese for me. 🙂

  2. Wish I wasn’t so far away! I love the Eric Carle Museum and seeing you in person would be lovely.
    (When BD was making the college choices, there was definitely a part of me that hoped she would pick Hampshire, because then I’d be assured of getting to the museum on something like a regular basis. But she found absolutely the perfect school for her at Hartwick, so I can’t complain.)

  3. The restaurant does seem pretty creative! I wouldn’t have thought of it either. And thanks for loving Mary Anning. That was the original title, but there was some skepticism, but by the time it went into production, everyone came around.
    mmm, grilled cheese.

  4. Yes, we can live our geographic illusions on LJ land, but in fact — those miles are long! I would have loved my daughter to do college at UVM, but she was moving away from snow, not toward more. I’ll have to find another excuse to shop at the Flying Pig, etc! It’s been way too many years since I’ve been far enough north.

  5. That could be cool….

  6. Now you’ll be discussing Winnie-the-Pooh? And eating scones? Wonder if I can sneak away to join you… 🙂

  7. Yeah, life’s tough in academia! Wish you were here, too!

  8. I never really aspired to be the scone lady, but I guess we are who we are.


Leave a Reply

Categories

