Posted by: jeannineatkins | August 10, 2008

Two Nights

For just a bit, our daughter is sharing a time zone. I made up her bed, stocked up on blue chips and 40 spice hummus, stuck a cream-colored hyacinth stem in a green vase. Our big dog moaned with pleasure and relief that the family was together, hopping to lap her, while our little dog spun in more generic delight: yay, another person who adores me!

I saw fleeting glimpses of some of her old friends and heard about new friends and classes: she’s doing a film/book comparison of Breakfast at Tiffany’s and deciding if she should do a comparison paper on Britney/Madonna or Jackie Kennedy/Michelle Obama. (I’m hoping for the latter, sort of on the principal she told one roommate that her art history paper should not be on mosaics, but on Titian or Rembrandt, since that was the paper she would rather edit, though I expect my editing to be more gentle copy-editing while Em expects to extend hers to research.) We got matching pedicures where we ran into her sixth grade teacher and got caught up on seven years.

Then I drove Em to meet friends near NYC and on the phone with her, Max said, “Your mom is driving all that way so you can go on vacation? She’s the man.” Steph’s parents let me sleep over, snug in a twin bed by a big window on the second floor, listening to rain, and the friends laughing while standing in the driveway, and geese over the water. I felt privileged to close my eyes among the quacks, cries, and dreamy wisdom of geese, undeterred by darkness. Their noise was lulling and kind of magical, like the hug I got from my daughter at five in the morning, before she set off to yet another place where I’ve never been.

Responses

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who knows exactly what their dog is thinking.

  2. And so it goes.
    Lovely post.

  3. The cat’s language, however, is beyond me. What does it mean to slink away, then hover, and now with daughter gone sleep on her bed?

  4. Thanks, Jody.

  5. Ah…magical hugs from visiting daughters. How sweet. I’m looking forward to getting mine next week!
    “She’s the man.” I love it!

  6. What a wonderful visit–and I say go for the Jackie/Michelle comparison, too, if she wants my vote!
    Where do you find 40-spice hummus?

  7. Enjoy the hugs — they really are the best!

  8. Sorry, Becky, I don’t think she wants even my vote, but they could make it as I think their sense of style is more to Em’s liking.
    Forty Spice hummus apparently is made here in Mass — http://www.tribehummus.com; it’s actually a little too spicy for my taste, but I’ll think of her dipping carrots into the leftovers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

