Posted by: jeannineatkins | August 6, 2008

More Family Visiting

We left my sister’s oldest to her work in Boston, then yesterday my sister, her two younger daughters, and I spent the day swimming, going to the Eric Carle Museum http://www.picturebookart.org/, and seeing Wall-E. At lunch the sixteen-year-old said, “It’s a children’s day. Nothing wrong with that, I’m just saying.”

I guess those are my favorite things, though swimming has and probably always be my exercise of choice, the Carle was showing some sophisticated fantasy (okay, along with Pat the Bunny), and while Wall-E is animated it had some weighty dystopian moments. I was glad to read LJ recommendations from Kelly kellyrfineman and Nancy naturespeak.

It was fun to beat out the thunderstorms and have company at the lake, to eat corn on the cob, salad, and chicken on the porch, and to wander around the museum. After staring at displays of insects and hummingbirds the day before, we appreciated Carle’s big bright canvases. The room devoted to Dorothy Kunhardt was intriguing. My sister and I noted that we each own copies of Pat the Bunny with next to nothing left in them, all rubbed and torn away. On a bench was a box filled with various stuffed rabbits with signs on their collars: Don’t pat the art, pat me. I hadn’t known there were similar books about a pony and a dog, and that Kunhardt’s earlier books were things like Junket is Nice and another about a similar dessert that back in the fifties we were given to eat when sick, so the memories weren’t fond.

The biggest rooms had a variety of art from the Kendra and Allan Daniel collection, and my favorites were works by the Red Rose Girls, especially Jessie Wilcox Smith. The poster for this exhibit features one she did of Alice in Wonderland, where a less-spooky-than-usual Alice is surrounded by some of her strange friends. My sister told me a film version of Alice is under development to be directed by Tim Burton, and that Johnny Depp is lobbying to be Alice. Hmmm…

We all liked Wall-E, which made us laugh but left a haunting feeling. My sister, a film critic, told me some of the people behind it were the same ones who did last year’s Ratouille, and the marketing people must have been unhappy to work with a rodent crazy about cooking and robots who don’t necessarily make cute toys and utter a very limited number of syllables, hardly words at all. But they insisted on their creative vision and the world is better.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a marvelous few days of “refilling the well,” Jeannine.

  2. It’s fun to see what changes and what stays in the same in relatives through the years.
    Oh, and so yes, back to the well. I do feel ready to dip.


Leave a Reply

Categories

