Posted by: jeannineatkins | June 22, 2008

Writing and Waves

I’ve always liked to read about the different ways people fit writing into their days. Sylvia Plath liked to get up before dawn and write when her mind was still dream-touched and before the day’s tasks had to be tackled. Or contend with certain men. Edith Wharton wrote in the east-facing boudoir of her mansion in western Massachusetts, letting papers of her bitter and brilliant novels flutter to the floor, to be collected by maids, then typed. Before lunch, she got up to wrestle into a corset and Worth gown and maybe have tea with Henry James. Virginia Woolf also liked to put about three hours of work into her mornings, then talk and talk and talk with her publisher and husband, her painter sister, her art critic husband, and many smart and witty friends.

I love a quiet morning, too, and especially one where I wake up to the sound of waves. It’s our family’s tradition to rent a house in Maine for two weeks in the summer, and in passing years we’ve managed to get closer to the ocean. Soon relatives and friends will ascend, but this morning I’m the only one awake and watching the air change colors – gray for while, with the slightest vision of stones and rugosa roses, and now waves waves waves waves. Small palaces of water turn pink. A new bit of water curls into silver spray. Men in canvas jackets cast lines from bobbing boats. I’ve got coffee and a good book by my side – Mariss de los Santos, Belong to Me, with its colorful cover with four pairs of rain boots. And my laptop. Is that poetry I hear stirring? Maybe.

Every wave, a new chance and an invitation to write. Gentle, rushy sounds keep me company. You could forget everything else here and for a while I do.

Responses

  1. Beautiful! I hope the words and waves with greet you in the summer morning.

  2. What a beautiful post! Thank you for sharing! Have a wonderful vacation!

  3. It sounds absolutely beautiful. I’ve always wanted to go to Maine…someday! 🙂
    I thought the point of a Worth dress what that it DIDN’T require a corset?

  4. Lovely … I love the ocean and the water.

  5. Thanks, Crissa.

  6. Thanks, Debbi. I only wish you were here. Maybe next summer?

  7. Yes, yes, come to Maine. Though you do have that Pacific beauty close by.
    Well, interesting re Worth dresses. You would know. They sure look as if they’re wearing some kind of hard-wired something underneath, and/or major breath-holding.

  8. Oh, well, actually, of course, I got this history from fiction. Carole Nelson Douglas had a mystery series on Irene Adler (from Sherlock Holmes fame), and in one she went crazy for Worth dresses, and they were rather scandalous… But, as usual, I certainly have no facts!

  9. oh, those pesky facts. But we don’t have to research our blog notes, right? Maybe Worth got more relaxed after his heyday in the Gilded Age. I think Coco Chanel was the one who started shocking people with her waistless dresses post WWI. Okay, enough of my haphazard fashion history for the day before I put forth more maybe-ish information on the web!

  10. I hear ha, J! Bring on the waves!

  11. Lovely description. Enjoy the peace.


Leave a Reply

Categories

