Posted by: jeannineatkins | June 15, 2008

Happy Father’s Day

Father’s Day is not a big deal in our house. Most holidays, truth be told, aren’t. I do like rituals: my friend Mary and I walking the dogs many mornings, family gatherings on the bigger holidays, and there was the great dinner with old friends for our anniversary – but that was pretty uncommon, more because the number was big. Usually it’s a kiss and a card.

But our daughter is taking her dad out to dinner, then they’ll go see The Incredible Hulk. And probably critique all the way home, if the previews were any indication. We’ve already talked about this some: Hulk as a great green character, but all that anger feels hard to warm up to on the big screen.

Meanwhile I’m on the porch writing and reading, with a break to walk the dogs and pick a pink peony to stick in a vase in the bathroom and wildflowers for the front hall. I read marybethkelsey‘s post which made me think of my own dad reading Winnie-the-Pooh to three kids and changing his voice for Pooh, Kanga, Rabbit, etc. I’m afraid I hogged lots of the reading to our daughter time, but on the I-won’-go-to-sleep nights they had their moments, and there was a long stretch, when E was older, of Calvin and Hobbes which I know my husband cherished. There are few things nicer than books and laps, or heads side by side on pillows, book in hand.

Update: They both loved the Hulk!

Responses

  1. My husband and son also did Calvin. My husband read everything except the “Aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhs” and the “Mooommmmmmms!”. Son read those. My job on the latter was to call back from the kitchen, “What?” so he could crack up.

  2. What a great dad, great mom, great son! Hope your day was happy.

  3. The Calvin and Hobbes thing is so cute. 🙂
    I keep hearing the Hulk was great! I was skeptical before I started hearing from friends. I gotta see this!

  4. Yes! It was great!

  5. I’m glad you liked it! Peter enjoyed the references to the original comic, and Em put up with, if she didn’t entirely enjoy, him trying to fill her in on some of these.

  6. Yes, Pete was skeptical, but he’s putting it up there with Ironman!


Leave a Reply

Categories

