Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 20, 2008

Talk and Quiet

I recently enjoyed lunch with a few other writers, and got caught in the whirlwind of all our beautiful uncertainties. Most in the midst of writing new books, or waiting to hear from important people in cities, one waiting for her book to hit the shelves soon, and some of us awash in all of the varieties of creating, waiting, and selling that make up our world. We talked about our editors and our dogs, charms and imperfections.

I love the gossip, celebrating the hard-won victories and commiserating about the struggles. But of course it’s not where the work comes from. Now I give my dogs leftover lemon bread to keep it out of my own mouth and try to make my way back to the kind of silence where something entirely new arises. Sitting on the porch – yay! at last! – I cross the Atlantic in my mind. The weather turns hotter as I move back almost 3000 years in time. Become a Sumerian princess who slips off her sandals, picks up a stylus and clay tablet, contemplates the Moon, and maybe isn’t entirely different from teens we know now as she deals with a mother who sends her across the known world.

Responses

  1. I always SO enjoy your posts! And I need some of that “good quiet” to get back to my WIP. My current quiet has too much “mind-noise.”
    Go you!

  2. I’m trying to focus in on this, too–that, with all the differences in worlds and customs, teens then and teens now must have shared things. Or, if only in our fantasy world, this may be what we have to hone in/create to catch today’s teens.
    Beautiful.

  3. Wonderful post and imagery.

  4. I love reading your posts. Your writing is quiet and beautiful.

  5. I also wanted to say how much I love your posts and how glad I am to “know” you through your blog.

  6. Oh, that mind-noise. It is hard to push it out. We’re going to have to work on some tricks to deal as I’m finding it edging in more and more. Meanwhile, thanks for the cheer!

  7. Yes, I’m pretty convinced so much of our interior lives don’t change. And that characters may stay stiff if we don’t let in our present feelings or observations. Thanks, as always, Becky.

  8. Thaks, Kelly!

  9. Thank you! That is so sweet.

  10. Thank you. That means a lot.

  11. Sorry, Linda, I didn’t mean to be repetively sappy. I think there’s a layering thing here I was missing and am replying to replies. But I DO appreciate your kind words and have enjoyed your blog very much, too. I’m sure we’ll meet in person one of these days.

  12. Not sure what you mean by repetitively sappy — but thanks and yes, I’d like that.

  13. Thank you for a wonderful lunch, Jeannine!
    Enjoy your mind travels… 🙂
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

