Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 20, 2008

Page 123

My online pal Becky Levine , who is as crazy about researching history as I am, tagged me for a meme. Instructions are to:

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people and post a comment to ‘s blog (your tagees will post to mine, etc.) once you’ve posted your three sentences.

Probably I’ll do something messed-up here. No, surely I will. But I’m picking up Philippa Gregory’s The Other Boleyn Girl which has been near by elbow far too long. My daughter, who passed it along to me, keeps asking, “Have you read it yet?” Through no fault of the novel, which is a page-turner, my progress has been glacial. Other library books and books for classes have come and gone. I’m not as enraptured of European history, especially those crazy Tudors, as my daughter is. But I would recommend the first three pages to anyone who wants to look at a way to begin a novel with lots of tension. Of course not every novel is going to have a neck and an executioner in the second paragraph. But even without that, this novel really doesn’t sag.

And on page 123 (who thinks up these things?) the fifth, sixth, and seventh sentences are:

“Suddenly like a striking snake, she reached out a grabbed my hand in a fierce grip. At once she twisted it behind my back and held me so that I could move neither forward nor backward but only cry out in pain: “Anne! Don’t!”

Mmmn, I think we’d get the mood without the snake simile, but I won’t use that as excuse not to read on. And re my five tagees, I’m going to cheat and just say please please play if you want! I’m a lazy tagger, but you won’t regret reporting in to Becky’s blog because she always has something fascinating to say (and she will hopefully forgive this cheating.)

Responses

  1. Boy, you learn something every day. I thought “The Other Boleyn Girl” was just a movie! 🙂

  2. My daughter and I enjoyed the movie and she got the book, which she was reporting is weird because, besides the title and main characters, there seems little connection, and then neither one is actual history. Now she’s reading Alison Weir’s biography of Henry Viii. But there’s likely some fiction there, too… amid the drama!


Leave a Reply

Categories

