Posted by: jeannineatkins | February 3, 2008

Room with a View

I like my kitchen-window view of chickadees, nuthatches, and suet-loving woodpeckers a – and now and then, if the dogs are inside, crazy wild turkeys, trying to look dignified crossing the snow — but I’m happy to have office hours. From the second floor of Bartlett, I’ve got enormous trees, a pond, an old stone chapel, and students properly suited up for the cold. The plastic chair and steel table, reeking of the lemon-mint cleanser I wiped on surfaces, are nothing to squeal about, but this view makes me thankful, thankful, thankful for my office. And being a UMass alum, I have memories of talking about fiction in the room next door – my stomach doing flip flops when others read the stories I’d had copied at Collective Copies, which, college town miracle, still exists (and my favorite then-copier is now teaching kindergarten, his hair still shades of red and worn in a braid down his back.)

Since my student days I’ve published ten books, written maybe thirty more, married, raised a child, and taught, But some things don’t change. My stomach still flutters the first time words leave their birth home in my mind and wend their way from many drafts to the public. Eleven other students and one prof around a rectangular table, once. Now my writing group at the Lord Jeff Inn.

I know I’ll find some good stories looking out this window. One day buds, then leaves, will bring on faint red and bright green. And, hey, I hope students stop in, too.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous view! Thanks for sharing!

  2. 🙂

  3. A room with a view! Beautiful and sure to be inspiring!

  4. Beautiful. I wish I had office hours somewhere!


Leave a Reply

Categories

