Posted by: jeannineatkins | January 10, 2008

Nods to some great blogs

I’m happy and proud that Jo Knowles jbknowles named me for a Shameless Lions Writing Circle award. Jo was the person who gently nudged me to start a blog, and her honest and beautiful writing remains an inspiration. I agree with her about the mixed feelings any award announcements can bring since we read as to make connections, not keep score, and as a bestower, you’re well aware of what you’re leaving out, which you may love almost as much, or even more on another day. This is a cool award, cause we get to wear the tiara for a bit, then pass it along to five others.

I’m new to putting up pictures here, and life feels kind of pressure-cooker-ish at the moment, so I won’t post the purple lion image, but here’s what we get to print on our t-shirts or something:
According to the Shameless Lions Writing Circle (http://theshamelesslionswritingcircle.blogspot.com/2007/11/roar-for-powerful-words.html) — the award was created to acknowledge “those people who have blogs we love, can’t live without, where we think the writing is good and powerful.”

I want to cheer for five writers who regularly offer up stories, verse, and blogs that only they can write.
For bringing more poetry into my life, I love the Live Journals of Susan Taylor Brown susanwrites
and Laura Salas laurasalas

For bringing more science news to my attention, I’m grateful to Loree Griffin Burns lgburns

And to Nancy Castaldo for giving nature her attention in her blog naturespeak
and news about ways to envision the past in Historically Speaking http://nancycastaldo.blogspot.com/

Yay, lions, one and all!

Responses

  1. A Shameless Lions award? Cool! Congratulations to you! And thank you for mine–I’m so excited! Thank you, thank you! Whee!
    Now off to ponder how to celebrate this and who to pass it on to.
    Thanks:>)

  2. Oh, Laura, thank YOU for your great blog! I’m sorry I haven’t yet figured out how to paste in the lion symbol! My life is hectic right now, some good, some not, and my blog is what has to get neglected for what I hope won’t be too long! I start teaching children’s lit at UMass in two weeks (one of the good things I have to be giving attention to now!) and hope that will bring blog-inspiration.
    But thank you, truly, for your great thoughts on writing that just keep coming! I’m amazed.

  3. Thanks for sharing the nature blog…lots of great pictures up there!

  4. Thanks for looking! I love nature photos people put up. A resolution for 2008 — more photos (than the one I managed, to my delight, at the end of 2007).


Leave a Reply

Categories

