Posted by: jeannineatkins | December 16, 2007

Back in Time

Last week I visited Anne Bussler’s fifth grade class at Conway (MA) Grammar School to talk about writing and Anne Hutchinson’s Way. We were going to meet in the restored schoolhouse by their school, and since the winter air was in the twenties, I was kind of wishing for a snow-length woolen dress and long cape. Instead I dressed in layers and tried to forget those Laura Ingalls Wilder tales of hovering by wood stoves. How did those children learn anything? How could they think of anything but cold hands and feet? Anyway,
here’s the beautiful sight I drove up to.

It turned out that Grace’s dad had gotten the wood stove burning well and the room was perfectly cozy. They had lots of good questions and how can you not love a fifth grader whose favorite authors are Louisa May Alcott and Mark Twain? Wish I’d had time to get to know her.

Here’s the schoolhouse in warm weather 1904. Love the bow ties and lunch pails.

And here we are (thanks to Paul Franz/Greenfield Recorder):

Responses

  1. That is so cool! My house is from around that time… Cool to think that’s how kids dressed back then. 🙂

  2. beautiful!

  3. Thanks for sharing these cool pictures!

  4. All I can say is: ‘wow!

  5. A good year for houses. I’m not sure about the fashions though.

  6. Thanks! This was my first effort at putting up photos, and it was fun (after the glitches.)

  7. well they’re not sparkly cookies, but I did hit a good day with blue sky and snow cover. Thanks.

  8. Wow is rare and sweet — thanks, and thanks for friending me (you’re friended back!)

  9. Very Cool. 🙂

  10. Now that’s my kind of visit! How fun!

  11. A nice continuity between the two photos…I love the photo with the children and teacher staring back from 103 years ago. Maybe your 2008 photo in a 100+ years will be posted by someone somewhere on a network yet to come!

  12. Cool! My husband suggested some students pose in the same position as those from 1904, which sounds fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

