Posted by: jeannineatkins | September 6, 2007

Making and Bending Deadlines

Sometimes you’ve got to love breaking your own deadlines. Today I’m having lunch with three other writers, and I’ve worked hard the past week to get some pages ready to pass on for review. I could work really really hard this morning and get them done by noon, but I glimpse a few interesting cracks in this almost-done draft that I want to linger around and explore. So instead of hunkering over the computer and pounding, I’m sitting back and musing – stretching out images, then squishing them back together. Another week or two, another meeting for coffee, and the more finished work will feel better to hand over. But it was great the past week how the deadline made me focus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

