Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 9, 2007

Imagining Being Seven Years Old

At last, I’m printing out three copies of a revision to send to my critique group. There will be many more revisions of the revisions, but for now, it’s off my kitchen table.

For months I’ve been immersed in teen protagonists. Now I’m opening a folder with lots of notes for a chapter book, and get to pretend, for the summer, that I’m seven. I’ll still do my routines, but how nice to spend mornings slipping, as best I can, into a seven-year-old’s mind. It’s so much more fun to go on a picnic than to pack one. It’s great to pet the dogs without running maintenance: checking for ticks, wondering if there’s enough loose fur to warrant getting out the brush. To sit on the lawn and not let weeds or bare spots catch my eye, and start planning attacks. To watch clouds, swim just because it’s hot and sunny, read novels – without feeling like I should be doing something else.

Going back is one of the joys of writing for children.

Responses

  1. That is part of the fun of it! Believing that you can do all those things just because you want to–because it’s fun. I love talking with my 8-year-old niece and remembering back to when I felt like I was so grown up–at eight. : )
    Enjoy your mornings! They sound like fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

