Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 3, 2007

Historical Fiction — Managing the Strands

I’ve done most of the research for the historical chapter book I’m working on. Since the novel is loosely based on a real person, I know where I want to end and I’ve gathered details I hope will bring the setting to life. Now I’ve got to work on the fiction part, letting the character and those around her speak. I feel I need to shake loose from my diligent library-probing self. I have to get away from hush and let people chatter. I felt something was starting to come alive when my character stopped taking herself quite so seriously and got mad at her brothers for their teasing, then sad when a brother left home. The acting out began and I feel I’m on the necessary step away from stick figures among pretty historically-right clothes and furniture. Can I stay here…?

Leave a Reply

Categories

