Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 2, 2007

Beginning and Revising on the Same Day

More Steps of the Writing Process

When I talk about writing in schools, I’ve got an orderly list of things that may happen. When I write at home, there is no list, or everything goes haphazard. Right now I’m working on the end of a revision for my four-person writing group (then there will be another revision, then, hopefully, post-editor revisions). I love the first slashing stage of revisions, but now I’m up close and petty and it makes my belly and shoulders tight. Not really how I want to spend a good summer day, but there is the wonder of writing group deadlines. I will, not cause they’d lash me, but, we’d all feel a bit disappointed to postpone. It’s avoidance of sad looks.

To make up for the shoulders-bent state of revising, I’m giving myself a few daydreamy hours to jot messy messy notes for an upcoming chapter book. These characters can say anything they want! They can say stupid things, out of character things; they can leap through time and space because later, I can cut paragraphs and pages. Meanwhile all that outrageous leaping about might lead to a revelation.

I love this stage, though I’ll get to a point when I know the characters well enough to want to share them. At that point, A LOT of tidying up is in order. But it never does to worry about what’s up ahead.

Responses

  1. Welcome to LJ, Jeannine! I found you through Jo. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Jenny. Yes, Jo is the best. I love your image — Van Gogh, or am I dumb? I read through some of your posts and your projects sound fantastic!

  3. I love this Jeannine! What you say about new projects is really helpful, as I’m in the same place right now. Thanks for sharing your process!
    🙂

  4. Jo sent me here.
    Welcome to Planet LJ. 🙂

  5. Hi Jeannine! So glad to have you in the LJ neighrborhood – Jo pointed me here. I’ve friended you. 🙂

  6. Welcome to LJ land! Thanks for the sweet note! 🙂

  7. Welcome! Any friend of Jo’s is a friend of mine.

  8. Thank you!!!

  9. Jo is the best! Thanks for the welcome!

  10. Thank you!

  11. Lisa, thank you so much! I friended you, too!

  12. welcome to lj!!

  13. Hi Jeannine! I also found you through Jo. Welcome to LJ. :-0
    Marybeth

  14. Thanks! I love your sea image!

  15. Yes, it was kind of Jo to give me a public welcome. I like your bug-eyed bug, Marybeth. Congratulations on your upcoming books — how exciting! I added you as a friend.

  16. ah, shucks, thanks. it’s the name of my novel. =9

  17. oh, i added you too! frienda jo’s is a frienda mine!

  18. Thank you! Yes, it’s Van Gogh. We saw his paintings when we were in Paris a few years ago, and they made me cry.

  19. Maybe I should clarify before I sound unhinged — they were so *lovely* they made me cry. I’d seen the prints, but it didn’t prepare me for the beauty of the paintings!


Leave a Reply

Categories

